I Was Tagged…Quirky Things About ME

January 31, 2008 at 4:57 pm 4 comments

I’ll take this meme on…it is a snow day here.   First, what is a meme?  There are varied explanations.  On blogger simply answered it by saying, “It’s where you talk about ME, ME, ME!”  This is a funny answer, and sometimes true, but not always.  This is a better explanation if you want to read:  What is A Meme?  First, he lists practical blogging use, then, interestingly, the root of the word going back to sociology and genetic application.  Hmmm.  Who knew we were that scientific and comples in our bloggy language use?  You just learn something new every day!  Blogging…very educational.

The rules for this meme are: (1) Link to the person that tagged you. (2) Post the rules on your blog. (3) Share six non-important things/habits/quirks about yourself. (4) Tag six random people at the end of your post by linking to their blogs. (5) Let each random person know they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their website.

Merry Days hooked me up.

  1. I like pickled bologna, on rare occasion.  However, as a comfort, I never eat the full jar.  This fact is something that The Hub says is one of the things that surprises him most about me.  If that’s all he’s got on me, I feel pretty good about it.  (Unfortunately, that would not be the case…he has a lot on me!)
  2. I am good at roller skating.  I can skate any direction, find it incredibly liberating and a great work out.  I love my kids parties at the roller rink.  And I love teaching skating when I have time, preferably to little ones…they don’t have far to fall.  If you weigh more than me, fine, but you have to catch yourself…your own tail, not mine.
  3. I have a toe-nail that grows split.  My baby toe.  My grandmother’s did this, and my mother’s does this.  It creates a little stub toenail later in life.  My mom has cut her little stub completely off as a result.  So, if you want to see my feet with all five toenails, you should look now.  I’ve been told, however, that I have pretty feet.  Which is a comfort, because The Hub has ugly feet, and they hurt him a lot.  He won’t mind me telling you.  He quite agrees.  I hope and pray my kids got my feet and not his, but so far, it’s hard to say.
  4. I cannot STAND unnecessary noises.  If you ever need a Chinese torture chamber took for me, this would pretty much do it.  After we’d neearly lost our first-born in labor, I didn’t hold him for three days/  They didn’t know what to do with me, so they left moved me to a labor room which had a drippy sound pipe right outside my window.  I was trying to nurse, had no baby, didn’t know if I’d have a baby to nurse and had milk, if you know what I’m saying, got reports that he was better, then worse, then better then worse, and then it was time to sleep…and drip, drip, drip, drip….POUR!  drip, drip…gush.  ARG.  I had to convince myself God had sent me a fountain lest I lose my mind.
  5. I prefer the color brown to black in general, but if I’m dressing up, I like black better. 
  6. I have two holes pierced in each ear, but I only wear one set of earrings.  Reason being: one of my lobes is slightly bigger than the other, so even though the holes are “centered”, they are not equi-distant from one another, and this drives me crazy.  I like for all earrings to be equidistant from each other.  This would involve another piercing to rectify, which I’m unwilling to do, because I’ve gotten wimpier as I’ve gotten older with such things.  (I’m on #6 and I still have much quirkiness left.  I think I’ll go on for a bit…)
  7. I have enough moles, excuse me, husband affectionately calls them “beauty marks” to map out the entire solar system.  I’m a moley person.
  8. My fingernails grow in odd configurations…namely, a few of them either turn down or slighty corkscrew.  A few of my toenails turn down also, which is rather nice because they never hit the end of my shoes.  This does not lend itself to foot beauty particularly, and I have a reputation to uphold, so I have to trim them before it is noticeable.  I’m not sure that claw-like nails will ever be fashionable, but if they are, watch out.
  9. I like lists. I write lists.  I generally lose or forget the lists.  The Hub says I’m the most disorganized obsessive compulsive person he knows.  He’s joking, I think.  I’m not really OCD, just picky about some random things.  Writing things down, in general, helps me remember what’s on the list, or approximately how many items I need to try to remember, and it organizes my thoughts for a moment in time, and that’s a nice feeling.
  10. I can twirl a baton, not with any high degree of excellence, but I can twirl one.  I just wanted to learn how.  As a note, if you have a ceiling fan in your bedroom and try to learn to twirl a baton in that room, things get interesting with two torques meeting up.  I lost some needful brain cells there.  My brothers’ bedroom was above mine, and they didn’t particularly care for long term thudding.
  11. Fruit flavored soft candies are my favorite, and I crave foods, including my sugar of choice, in seasons. 

My husband is home from work.  I hear the garage door.  I will close this out for today.   This was fun, though I went beyond six.  I don’t like to tag people for fear of leaving someone out, but would love to read your quirky lists if you want something fun to do!  And, I’ll link you up here if you do it.  Just buzz me (link back here in your post and I’ll know you did it.)

1. MamaRosi took it on here

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Same ‘Ole Sky? “Whatya Doin’?” — New Twitter-Like Community Blog–Join In!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kevin Leggett  |  January 31, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    Maybe its a girl thing, but I don’t think I would have ever noticed earrings on anyone being non-equidistant. 🙂

  • 2. mamarosi  |  February 1, 2008 at 1:13 am

    me neither, but I’m not detail-oriented at all…

    I did your Quirky list on my site, check it out! My pickle addiction is beets, love them!

  • 3. Misty  |  February 1, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Hmm, I may have to do that. Not sure I want people knowing how wierd I am though. 🙂

  • 4. Merrie  |  February 1, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    Great list! Thanks for playing along. I used to skate, but age and wisdom (falling is not fun) took over. I love fruit flavored candy and unnecessary sounds drive me up the wall. I also am very “moley”! I learned to twirl the baton as a little girl and always wanted to be a majorette in high school, but didn’t want to be in the band – so couldn’t.
    I laughed about your earrings and equidistant… I have this thing about being off centered, which is probably the same thing.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 984,386 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


