Issues: Presidential Election 2008 (My Two Cents Won’t Even Buy You A Decent Cup of Coffee)

January 22, 2008 at 5:45 pm 10 comments

vote.jpg

You guys are great in giving me some links to help with my voting quandry…I’m still looking into them.  Here are the questions from VoteHelp.Org –I didn’t know much about how to answer all these, but if you don’t think about the questions, you surely can’t pick a cantidate, unless you want to go on “best hair” or “best smile” or something.
You don’t have to go with my thoughts, but these help you evaluate your most important opinions.  I encourage you to think, read, and take the test at www.VoteHelp.org or check out other sites like http://www.frcaction.org/
VoteHelp.Org QuestionsQ: Do you support a set timeline for withdrawal of US troops from Iraq. I don’t like war.  I don’t like the cost in any terms.  But, there are those better able to make this decision.  I’m not sure that the troops being fed our doubts and frustrations with leadership is any confidence for anyone.  And yes, I’ve had immediate family in the military through this conflict. 
Q:  Do you believe government should increase regulation of activities that appear likely to harm the environmentWe would all say “yes” to this.  But, I think we are making strikes toward this as we can. 
Q:  Do you support very strict controls on government spending.  We all vote for strict controls, but then we say we want “more” of all these other things.  We personally have to evaluate how much we expect the government to do.  
Q:  Do you believe that government should provide more economic incentives to corporations to promote growth.  Sounds great, but costs $$$$$
Q   Do you believe the national minimum wage should be increased.  Sounds great, but it costs $$$$$, and therefore jobs.
Q:  Do you believe in strictly enforcing current immigration laws.  Sounds great, but costs $$$$$ AND, it would seem to me that believing something is a far different thing than being able to do it.     
Q:  Do you support more government spending on education.  Sounds great, costs $$$$$  And, I think we need to define what part of budgets are truly educational.  More big screen TVs so that kids can watch cartoons during lunch to try to keep them quiet is not “educational” as far as I define it.
Q:  Do you support decriminalization of marijuana. I’m not going to speak to this…
Q:  Do you support abortion being legal. We have rather haphazardly made this decision in response to a problem out of control.  According to PRO CHOICE statistics, incest, rape, mothers at risk only make up less than 5% of the entire group.  Mothers at risk generally get THEIR care outside of abortion clinics anyway.  We need to totally re-evaluate everything related to this issue, particularly the way we advise teens about sexuality.  Doctors are committed to “do no harm”.  This is not allowing them to keep their oath.
Q: Do you believe foreign policy should include actively and aggressively confronting potential threats abroad.  Is there anyone running who doesn’t think we should confront potential threats abroad?  I’m not sure this question is helpful.
“Information is the currency of democracy.” – Thomas Jefferson
Q:  Do you support full equal rights for homosexuals, including gay marriage.  I do not.  There have got to be ways to deal with this without redefining what we as a society call “marriage”. 
Q:  Are you willing to sacrifice some civil liberties in order to protect us from terrorism.  I will…HOWEVER, let’s be care:  I would STILL like to have my children’s Mickey Mouse new toothpaste from Disney they took from my kids out of my backpack.  I’m bittter.
Q:  Do you believe in spending more money than we currently budget for defense and homeland security.  Again, sounds great, costs $$$$$ (We want to spend more in key areas, not cut any area, AND reduce government debt.  Somebody please tell me how that works, exactly?)
Q:  Do you support a path to citizenship for illegal immigrants already in the U.S.   Not sure I’m qualified here.  Off the top of my head, if they are here illegally, it seems to me that the path is back home until they can obtain a green card or a work pass or whatever…that IS the path.  For lack of a better plan, we use what is in place.  I’m not sure we are even doing that very well, and it does affect people’s lives to insist.
Q:  Do you support exploratory drilling for oil even in areas that are environmentally sensitive or preserves. I initially thought “no” to this, but in talking to some people and reading, there are some frozen preserve areas that could probably be drilled.  HOWEVER, I’m not sure we need to move toward drilling until we get equal passage of efforts toward using less fuel (the auto industry incentivized to move in new directions).
Q:  Do you believe government should help provide health care for all citizens$$$$  I’m not sure you can standardize health care and keep people happy.  If the gov is not balancing it’s own budget OR social security, how do we expect it to run health care? 
Q:  Do you believe that government should increase regulation on corporations for greater workplace and consumer protection. $$$$ So, we probably can’t have this AND “more jobs”, I’m just guessing.  Costs are costs.  I’m not sure people vote on these issues without realizing the cost is all.
Q:  Do you support increased agricultural subsidies.  $$$$ (Where it’s needed.  I’m not sure that as a whole, it needs increasing. Milk…now the price of milk needs to come down.)
Q:  Do you believe we should increase taxes on the wealthy.  What is their tax rate now?  Anyone know?  What is “wealthy”?  Anyone know?  Just so we are not spending more on education so our kids can go to school longer, have higher debts, work longer hours, and then pay for everyone else’s health care.  Something about that seems a disencentive and vaguely close to socialization.  I believe in incentivizing those who give to help the needy.  THAT seems positive. 
Q:  Do you support more free trade with other countries.    Should we not shoot for fair trade practices, not just “more free trade”.
     
“The government is us; we are the government, you and I.” – Teddy Roosevelt
Q:  Do you believe that social security should be privatized.  If folks saved anything now, we probably would never have needed social security.  I think they are discussing, possibly, way you can increase your 401K contributions.  I can see how that might work better than what the gov is doing.  The gov sure isn’t going to have anything left of it for us.
Q:  Do you believe in mandatory world-wide limits on global warming pollutantsLike we can have or enforce mandatory world-wide limits on anything, but doesn’t that sound nice?
Q:  Do you believe government should provide a social safety net for its citizensI’m not sure I even know what this is, anyone care to elaborate?  I must have my head stuck in a hole.
Q:  Do yousupport school vouchersI can see where you don’t want church and state mingled.  However, having had to pay public taxes at a very high rate when my kids did not attend public school?  AND I had to pay higher rates for private school?  That did not seem right.  Jsut to be excluded from those taxes would have helped.  I’m sure older people feel the same about having to pay, but it is a community service. I think we need limits on what constitutes “educational expenses”.
Q:  Do you support the death penalty.  I do.  I don’t like it, but there are cases.
Q:  Do you believe the President’s military action against Iraq was the right thing for him to do at the time.  I do.
Q:  Do you support embryonic stem cell researchI do not.  There is too much room for abuse with using embryos.  There are now alternatives with stem cells from umbilical cords that meet this need as I understand it.
Q:  Do you support the absolute right to own a gunI guess “absolute” is the key word–to own a gun is our constitutional right.  Rights come with responsibilities. 
Okay, there’s my 2 cents!  Ya’ll feel free to jabber here in comments, or email me!  I enjoy the thoughts and challenges.
Entry filed under: Everyday.

The Sock Basket, Broken-Down Doritos Trucks, and Tractor Pulls (yeah, that’s all I’ve got today) UK-TN Basketball SEC 2008–What a GAME!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kim V  |  January 22, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    Great “two cents(sense)”!!! I try to avoid the campaign nonsense as long as possible; however, I do believe it is time to start sifting through all of the issues. I will definitely check out the sites and start doing my homework.

  • 2. Stacey  |  January 22, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    25 cents will buy you the worst cup of coffee ever at McDonald’s. 😉

    So, the big thing I don’t really agree with you on is the gay marriage. I do think it should be called something different, but I think they should be able to enjoy the same benefits as other couples. For example… we have a family member who is gay. I’m not going into whether or not I agree with their choices, but fact of the matter is that they have lived with the same person for the last 20 years. They have a wonderful relationship and are nearing retirement age. The sad thing is that everything they worked for will be lost when either of them passes away. They are not able to leave their pension, etc… to the other person, especially medical benefits, etc… It just isn’t fair.

    I don’t think that this is a matter of whether you think that it is right (not that you commented on that), but it is sad that they have had a relationship much longer than many traditional marriages and the only ones who ultimately benefit will be the state. 😦

    Maggie replies: Thanks for sharing! Stacey. I love your honest dialogue.

    I can see where medical benefits become problematic, but it is also problematic for many people…college students who lose their parent’s insurance coverage, the unemployed, the poor–a lot of people who deserve insurance waiting in line for that one. Wills should handle estates for anyone, not just spouses. Benefits will not be tax free, but they can be willed.

  • 3. Stacey  |  January 22, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    I commented but it got sent to spam apparently. 😉

    Maggie: Thanks! I have had a wordpress UPGRADE in space today somehow, [edit: we ALL did!] and have gotten NO SPAM the last few days! Every comment it’s caught has been legit, and there is NOTHING else there…whew! I’m dancing!

  • 4. velma96  |  January 22, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    Thanks for your two cents!! I only did the first few questions on votehelp.org because of time constraints this morning. It was interesting to read your responses to the same questions I answered, as well as all the other questions.

    I hope that you are finding the answers you needed to help you in your quest to find the right man for which to vote! 🙂

  • 5. awomansdevotion  |  January 22, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Thanks for all the info. To add a couple of points, you are completly correct about the stem cells. Plus several scientist in idependent labs have documented taking any cell in the body back to the Blastocyte (probably misspelled). From this point, cells can be made into any type cell in the body.

    A note about the abortion issue because people always ask about that small number of rapes, incest…–I have a friend who was concieved when her mother was raped by a man from a different ethnic group. She is an amzing young lady who has touched more people than you could imagine. My point is that in most stressful situations, conception will not occur. If it does, it is my thought that God has an awesome plan for their life–Just as he does with all of our lives!!!
    Thanks again for the websites and information.

    Maggie replies: Awesome story. I share a similar one regarding a friend. God’s grace is amazing. Thanks for sharing!

  • 6. mamarosi  |  January 22, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    Hey girlie, I really just wanted to say thank you for your honesty and your input. You really made me think differently about alot of those questions. I had done the quiz myself a couple of times and I still, and always get Dennis Kucinich as my guy. I really love what he stands for. I do agree with you on the abortion issue as I’m pro-life to the nth degree. My only concern is ectopic pregnancies and pregnancies that put the mother at serious risk for death. I don’t know if that qualifies as an abortion if it can cause death of the mother. Do you know for sure about this? I’m just wondering myself so I know where to stand on this issue. Just as an aside, I have friends who have had abortions and I do not stand in judgement towards them at all.

    Maggie replies: Doctors are under oath, as much as is possible to “do no harm”. Abortion runs in the face of that oath. If the mother’s life is at risk, it is a matter of discussion between the family and doctor. Some hard decisions must be made in these “risk to the mother” cases.

  • 7. Jenn  |  January 23, 2008 at 11:53 am

    I too always struggle when it come to election time. I want to make a well informed decision, but often what info you can find on a candidate is spun in someway or another. Thanks for the great websites! Wish there were something as consice on the local level!

  • 8. lc  |  January 23, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    great blog today! thanks for the websites!!!

  • 9. Holly Smith  |  January 23, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    I left a long comment yesterday and it completely locked up, and I had to head out, so I’m so glad you found these two sites. I was telling you about them…and saying that my friend Christie has written a lot about Mike Huckabee on her blog: http://everfaith.wordpress.com/ She has done a lot of research on him. Chris and I have even met him and had dinner with him, but we do question his immigration stance. Anyhoo, I’m glad you found some good sites!

    Love you friend and praying for You!
    holly

  • 10. mamarosi  |  January 24, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Well, I’m sad to say that my guy, Dennis Kucinich is pulling out. It is understandable considering how small his following is, but I’m still sad. Just wanted to give this update to my previous post.

    Now I don’t know who I’m going to vote for. It’s funny, and perhaps I need to do more research but I think it’s going to be between Obama and Ron Paul…weird, I know. We shall see!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 978,843 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


