A Day Off School

January 21, 2008 at 12:07 pm 1 comment

Today:  I’m feeling better.  I slept all afternoon yesterday.  I went to bed at 10:30.  I woke at 8:30.  You’d think I have a headache, but I don’t.  I’m glad I don’t feel tired right now. 

Agenda:  Fold Sock Basket.  Each winter, I reserve this task for a snow day when I have all hands on deck.  I hate the sock basket. [UPDATE:  socks are now folded.  I bribed the kids.]

Pet Peeve:  Rattling cellophane paper during the sermon.  It’s like a crackling over the top of the preaching.  Perhaps we should run a PSA over the screens:  Please turn off all cell phones and unwrap all packaged products before the service begins for the courtesy of those sitting around you.  Thank you. 

If you do it because it helps you not cough…could we unwrap them before church?  As a note: slowly unwrapping them to try not to make noise is even more annoying than if you’d just get it over with quickly. 

Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t like feeling frustrated because I can’t hear the sermon set-up.  The first 5 minutes of the sermon are the worst time to do it, in my personal opinion.  Though, let’s be clear, there’s just not a good time.  This is, unfortunately, the time when everyone thinks about it…they’ve been singing, and they are probably thirsty or something.  If you give your kids candy, empty it for them and put the wrapper in your purse.  They will rattle it with every extraction of the sugar source.  (Note:  I understand and respect the sugar source powers). 

Maybe, as an alternative, we could insert into the order of service a “winter mint unwrapping ceremony” time slot?

Odd Fact About Me:  I have 4 trash cans in my kitchen that I use all the time and empty about every 3 days.  Go figure. 

Service:  I enjoy serving when there are true needs and I can prioritize them.  When there are not or I cannot, I’m limiting myself.  This is just something I’m having to do right now to avoid burn-out.  Not a place I enjoy, but just the way it is. 

Ah, it feels good to get to a setpoint on that.  I was beating myself up.

House:  I am not meeting my own goals here and hope to get to some sort of routine I prioritize so that I can prioritize my job for my family above other things.  I’ll read up on that today and accomplish 3 household tasks I don’t enjoy, just to get moving.

Exercise:  I’m doing some basic Yoga tape.  I’ve always been opposed to it because I felt it leaned toward New Age.  It really isn’t anymore.  I’ve found the tape I have leans toward some humanistic tendancies you have to be aware of, but if you can navigate those waters, it helps you learn to listen to your body if you’ve come to the point of ignoring your own basic needs.  {ahem}.  It does teach balance, and I think it’s good for me right now.  I need flexibility as much as I need aerobics.  I also like that the CD is non-sensual in it’s approach to health.  I just want to relax and be healthy.  I need to find what works for me and “just do it”.

Currently:  The kids are in the garage where it’s a little colder, skating in their PJs.  They were washing a plastic airplane armada.  Now, they are climbing in and out of the van and I see a GameBoy in action…at the same time.  Interesting.  I wonder if I should take my PJs to the van and play a video game?  Could be fun.

Dog:  Daisy has started to go potty on the porch because she feels the need to go 4-5 times a day right now and I refused to take her out when it’s below 10 degrees outside.  I have my limits.  I was going to clean it off today, but found it is frozen to the porch like a land-mine monument.  I will enjoy our first warm day so that I can “swab the poop deck”.  [update:  I decided waiting for a hot day was not going to improve the “poop deck”.  I scraped it with a shovel, swept it, and tried spraying it with Windex to avoid other “incidences” in the same area.  I’ve heard that works for babies…maybe it will work for dogs.]

Laundry:  My name is “Maggie”.  I have a problem doing laundry. I think I need a support group.  Or maybe I need to lean towardpre-child obsessive compulsive tendancies to get it back in shape.  I hate to go there, but I think that’s what is going to take…a full over-haul and maintenance plan.  Ya’ll pray for my family.

Tree:  My Christmas tree is still up.  I wanted the decorator-person to see how much space it takes before I took it down.  Maybe I should just take some masking tape and go around it in an outline.  But, that would look like a murder scene.  I thought about snapping a picture, but it’s just not the same.  I have this fear of having so much furniture in that room that I can’t easily manage my tree by myself, and this is of very high priority to me.  I won’t, however,  have the decorator over because I can’t get everything in order.  Maybe if she saw it out of order, she’d know where my trouble spots are (everywhere).  But, that’s embarrassing. 

Notes:  I’m trying to think of a way to make this more humorous for the casual reader, but, for the life of me…if I can’t get my Christmas tree down what makes you think I can pull that off?  😀   Yes.  Mom’s who stay at home really do think about mundane things in more detail than the average bear, all day.  It’s a blessing and a curse.

Email Hint:  The church sent out new email addresses for staff, etc. today.  Just go to each address, RIGHT click, and select “add to address book”.  You really need to go to the old address files and delete those as well, but this is a quick way to get the new ones into your address book.

New Artist:  JJ Heller check out the vodPod in the sidebar.  I love her style.  I think she’ll be sending me a few CDs to give away soon {not really, I’m dreaming.  But, wouldn’t that be nice?  Speaking of dreaming:  Did you see that commercial that says “Where your dreams come true?”, then that fast-voice announcer ends the commercial saying: “not all your dreams come true”?  Was that American Idol?  How funny.}

Forecast:  for Tuesday (our county) “BY THE TIME OF THE TUESDAY MORNING COMMUTE TO WORK OR SCHOOL…THERE WILL BE ACCUMULATIONS OF SNOW AND/OR SLEET IN THE 1 TO 2
INCH RANGE ON AVERAGE…WITH LOCALIZED TOTALS TO 3 INCHES POSSIBLE.”
 

Have a great Monday!

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Sanctity… Just Sharin’ the Finds for Today

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  January 21, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    Hello my name is Stacey, and I don’t have a problem with laundry…(not too bad anyways)… my problem is PUTTING IT AWAY. I will wash it all day long and even fold it, but up it goes on the dryer to sit… until it almost falls off or does fall off and touches the dirty clothes… which makes my OCD side wonder way too hard if that makes them dirty and need to be washed again.

    Whew. That was long.

    We are getting snow? Where have I been? LOL!

    Maggie replies: Yup…that’s how my problem began.

    Give it one more child and a few more years! LOL!!!

    YES! We are getting snow!!!! You better believe it. And there is going to be sledding OUT OF THIS WORLD!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 984,386 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


