My Wednesday 1-16-08

January 16, 2008 at 3:37 pm 1 comment

Fixed eggs, bacon, egg, english muffin for The Hub.

It’s his birthday.

Of course, I fix that for him nearly every day.  Unless the kids aren’t in school.  Then, he’s on his own.  Or unless it’s cereal day because I overslept.  Then, he’s on his own.  Or unless we are running late, then he’s on his won.

I do it every day…unless.

He works with me.  And I like that.

Then, I took the kids to school, with their coats on.  This is a HUGE feat.  Which is why I’m upset that the school chose YESTERDAY at 20 degrees after such a warm week to do a fire drill and bus drills back to back WITHOUT letting the kids return to their classrooms for coats in between.  I’m sorry.  I’m a mother.  That’s my job.  Emergencies are one thing.  Being outside in 20 degree weather to practice evacuating a bus, particularly when my kids DON’T RIDE the bus?  I know they have to be done, and perhaps they are scheduled.  But, I’m still ticked about the coat situation.  Kids need coats in the dead of winter.  They just do.  Why do you think I fight this “you need a coat…ON YOUR BODY”  battle every day?  Work with me here, people, that’s all I’m askin’.

Back to today.  Then, I did something very sweet.  I went to crank hubby’s vehicle for him between workplaces.  I knew when he was about to switch and it’s frigid, and he doesn’t have enough time between here and there for his vehicle to heat.  So I went and cranked it.  Although, he was 10-15 minutes late, and I began to worry about whether he had enough gas and the combined price of our engines running while I waited on him.  He was grateful.

Then, I worked on a slideshow for his year, while I cleaned.  Okay, so I didn’t clean, but that sounded more productive.  Breakfast is still on the bar.

It’s taken all day, and I’ve cried like a ninny it was so emotional.  Oh my goodness. If you don’t know how to put “Hallmark” music to your family pictures and set it to a slideshow, you are missing one of the grandest things since sappy music at the end of Full House.  I mean, what would it be without the sappy shots and music? 

So, that is burning to disc now and I’m hoping with fingers crossed it fits on one disk. There are about 300 pictures.  I put every one with him in it from the year in there.  He’s going to love it.  Only about 35 minutes long total.

I got cleaned up and snazzy (which only means I didn’t wear tennis shoes and got dressed before noon), met him at his office for lunch.  His staff provided lunch, thankfully, because my plans to provide that didn’t work out…I was doing the technological crying ninny getting dressed things.

Then, I had to go get meat and laundry detergent for the sledding snow we are about to have, and don’t argue with me on that…I’m ready and it’s time.  I just need one more snow suit, which I hope to procure within the hour.   We.  Must.  Sled.  It was so fun last winter.

Now, I hve to get the kids, buy a cake (“because it’s NO birthday without a CAKE!  We haven’t even got a cake, yet, Mom!!!” said Red as he left for school.)  We’ll get a card and a cake and maybe a replacement of a movie we liked that we gave away.  Simple.  I love having a man who needs very little to be over the top happy.  He’s the best.  The rest of you got leftovers, and I’m so sorry about that!

Today over at www.rayengland.wordpress.com “The Well”, we are talking about blessings.  There’s mine.  Life.  Family.  Love.  Celebration.  Moments…in the midst of it all.  Blessings.  People who love me unconditionally, all the way around me.  I AM blessed because of what Christ has done for me, and for us.  So blessed!  Without Christ saving me and setting me free, even with all this, I’d be lost, hungry, searching and so incomplete.   All this, what we tend to call “blessing” is just the cherry on top of a full to the brim and overvlowing cup of life with Christ!   

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Getting Ready So Many Greeting Cards…So Little Humor

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  January 16, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    All I have to say is that I have to see that CD so that I can be a weeping grandninny!!!!!!! Mom

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 978,843 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


