Who Do People Say That I Am?

January 10, 2008 at 10:32 pm 5 comments

I used to wonder this question often several years ago, “Who do people say that I am?”  It echoed in my mind, one, because Jesus asked it so much (I was reading the gospels at the time), two, I was feeling insecure about it myself. 

  • What would people say about me?  About…. my personality.  {Whew.} 
  • My life.  {Who AM I?  Somebody PLEASE tell me} 
  • My choices.  {Agh.  Some great stuff…some blah stuff}.  
  • My reputation.  {What IS reputation anyway?  Complex, but I do have some major regrests sprickled here and there.}  

…ike most of us alive. 

I thought to myself at the time, “Well, if even Jesus asked the question, it must hold some validity…’What do they say about me?’”  After many, many months of this song and dance, it occurred to me (maybe as I read scriptures and read Jesus’s words WITHIN the flow of his story), that Jesus PROBABLY wasn’t concerned about what people thought OF HIM…he wanted to know if they knew WHO HE WAS, and more importantly, WHOSE He was.  

Not that reputation and character don’t matter…they certainly do.  But, those are built, they are earned.  If you need to improve character rating, build, don’t focus on what people think of you in the meantime.  You’ll wear yourself out like a yo-yo.  If you have character, don’t worry so much what people think…God will take care of the rest.  People who walk with Him, His ways, He promises to take care of.  Believe it or play yo-yo with your own mind games on that one.

I wonder if PERHAPS Jesus asked his disciples this question because…and I’m just guessing here because it doesn’t say…but, perhaps the disciples needed to realize that what “the crowd” thought along the way was so fickle…something they would never be able to rely on or trust in or depend on.  Perhaps he wanted them to take note. 

But, think with me:  would it change the way you relate to others if you knew “if they got it yet”?  If they knew who you were in connection to God and who they could be? Namely, his child, adopted, of royal descent, destined for eternity, mapped for a life of purpose and high fulfillment right now.

Would it change the way you respond to people if you know they had not yet caught onto their newest romance… with Him?  If you knew before they did that they were about to be captured irresistably by the lover of their soul? 

Have you ever seen match-makers at work?  They are giddy and intense, serious and playful, almost too much.

Can you be smug in your knowledge that they are about to be overtaken…if they will only let go?

Impressions…they can work for us, or against us, depending on our goal.  The hair-line difference may be in the way we interpret our purpose.  Are we setting ourselves up…or setting others up?  Jesus was always about the other person.  The master plan.  The picture as a whole.  He wasn’t just consumed with his own.

If you are struggling with this quesion, can I just take a minute here while you are reading to remind you right now that you are so covered by His grace?  He loves you no matter who you are or what you’ve done.  He died for you, knowing everything you would be and do…in advance.  He MADE you.  He IS MAKING you.  He is building you WHILE he is intensely PROUD of you.  He clothes you in white every day and asks you to wear it as your identity because of what he did FOR you, cleansing you completely, making you whole.  And yeah, he ALREADY KNOWS you are about to get into.  He has the world’s greatest laundrymat for your “dress whites”.  Every day…he says, “Clothe yourself in white”.  Start again.  Fresh slate.  Wow.  I love it!

You are “free to fail” walking with Him! You are making a difference. You are enough in Him. You are blessed, chosen, called out to be fulfilled in Him.  Go boldly with Him!  Learn as you go! 

Be faithful, available, and teachablediscipleship is  the only place I know where it’s great to be F.A.T.! 

Pat yourself on the back and keep walking strong!  

So…my question to you is:  how are you doing with this question:  “Who do people say that I am?” 

AND…one more thing:  just in case you want to know–I think YOU ROCK! 

Comment, or Email me

Entry filed under: Discipleship, Everyday.

Maximize Outlook Express Vod Pod Update

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kimberly  |  January 11, 2008 at 8:06 am

    i never knew until i started reading your blog what a marvelous sense of humor you have!!! There are days you have me rolling and others that i know the seriousness and the bottom of your heart poured out to help others. Thank you. You crack me up and put me back together again.

    What would people say about me? Snob. Ugly. Snooty. They just don’t know me. Don’t know that I would much rather be worshiping quietly and unseen and unheard, but only because I am very quiet. I am learning day by day that today I am Christ’s bride, and am free to “fail in him”. I am truly blessed, anointed, chosen, and called out. Mold me, Jesus, into what you want me to be.

    BUT, with each day, “just one more” co-worker knows they can come to me for prayer, for encouragement, and i try to step out to be a disciple at work. Pray for me to keep growing in His name.

  • 2. Kim V  |  January 11, 2008 at 10:04 am

    I think that post rocks!!!! We are enough as long as we are in Him!!! We are the ones who mess it up, with worry about outward apperance instead of the inner beauty we POSSESS because He lives in us.

    Priscilla Shirer asked us at Deeper Still this important question…”Girl, who’s your Daddy?” We must know WHO we belong to and understand it.

    Great post!!!!! You rock too!!!

  • 3. awomansdevotion  |  January 11, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    Awesome post. Many years ago (15ish) someone gave me a book of quotes and one was marked and it said something to the effect of…
    God made you and only one you. If you do not fulfill His purpose for you, noone else can.

    That is the person I strive (but still often fail) to be–the one He created. And like you said, if I can do that then “God will take care of the rest.”

  • 4. Holly Smith  |  January 11, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    You know, I have never struggled so much with who do they say I am, as much as I have struggled with believing things about who they say I am, when they say it. It’s the after-affects that get me.

    BTW I found magnanimous (almost) in my Bible study yesterday. Isaiah 28:29: Check it out!

    Much love to you!

  • 5. bellissimanh  |  January 11, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    A line from an old Amy Grant song comes to mind… “All I ever have to be is what You made me.”

    Love this post, Maggie!

    Heather

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 981,434 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


