He Turns My Darkness Into Light

January 8, 2008 at 12:34 pm 6 comments

I was still editing and re-editing that last post as I do on occasion, when a scripture arrived in my email from a dear blogging friend (I’m going to leave her nameless today for the sake of God’s glory, because he deserves ALL of it and I know she’s agree):

The Lord God is my Strength, my personal bravery, and my invincible army; He makes my feet like hinds’ {that’s a deer} feet and will make me to walk {not to stand still in terror, but to walk} and make [spiritual] progress upon my high places [of trouble, suffering, or responsibility]! (Habakkuk 3:19 Amplified)

I hear in your voice and wanted you to know that (a.) I’ve been there…I am there and (b.) you are being prayed for today! Blessings, friend!

I soaked in that, took some time on the couch to nap while I had the time this week.

I woke to the sound of incoming emails, more than usual for this time of day:

I know how you feel.  I feel very overwhelmed this time every year.  The fun of the holidays is over, and the mess and full-steam ahead schedules is left for us to handle.  Plus I think it’s normal winter depression too.  This year, I’ve got the added stress of …[edited for privacy]…hang in there–spring will be here before we know it.

I received a few other emails that lifted my spirits to see, mostly indirectly.  While we all tire of forwards, there are some days they do lift your spirits, just to see an email with a good persective shared.

This is why I have email friendships.  You folks make up community, healthy community, a vital part of the body of Christ for me on days when depression could be a problem, but it no longer is for me.  I have the support I need to do this thing.

You guys are heart of long days.  I just love you to death.

Now, I feel like being productive, and that’s a great feeling.

I want to be better at this blogging thing…better and better all the time, not to my glory, but His.  I want to be a better writer, more creative in sharing.  I want the world to know that we serve a God of creativity, vibrancy, growth, vervor, and joy! I serve that God.  Shoot!  I need to remind myself quite often!

Thanks for letting me have my down moment.  And, you moms with young toddlers and kids…you are in survival mode and winter is SO HARD, and I’m praying for you.

Young moms, you girls are getting it:  to overcome the winter hump, many of you are volunteering time, giving of yourselves, setting goals, starting short devotional books, making commitments toward scripture and exercise, providing good food and  checking attitudes for your families (just try over and over and over and keep blogging it…it DOES help). You girls have found the secrets!

So, how do you working people find your “recovery place”?  You certinaly can’t nap and pray.  How do you get your days turned around?

Entry filed under: Blog Notes, Christianity, Faith, Sprituality. Tags: .

A New Pace Lulled Into Loss

6 Comments

  • 1. touchofglory  |  January 8, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    As one of the “work outside the home” moms, I’ll say it can be extremely difficult at times to find the right balance. I am blessed to have a job with a group that covers small, rural hospitals and such. Therefore, the surgery days aren’t nearly as long as at some of the larger places. So, I get home really early some days. The downside – I never get to take Syd to school, and I work outside the county. Lots of commuting makes for less availability. The upside – many times I’m home early enough to have lunch with her at school or at least pick her up. On the really busy work days, it can be tough fitting everything in. Napping, uh, what’s that??? 🙂 But I make sure I pray for my kids daily and spend time with each of them before they go to bed. And I tuck each of them in every night and make sure they know that nothing is more important to me than them. It also helps to have a very supportive spouse (as you know). Mine is in school full-time right now studying elementary education (obviously he’s really good with kids 🙂 ). He has a flexible schedule and is a HUGE help.

  • 2. Kimberly  |  January 8, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    Truthfully, there are days when I can’t get away from anything or anyone at work and I think if I hear my name one more time I will scream, so I will just go to the storage room for supplies and lock myself in and pray. Stay a little bit, pray a little bit, and then come back to my office. Brief, but effective.

  • 3. Kimberly  |  January 8, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    Oh yeah, employee bathroom makes a good prayer closet too!!

  • 4. ~E  |  January 8, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    I don’t think I have ever read that verse in that particular translation before. I like it. It is amazing how God uses different translations of a verse we have heard or read hundreds of times before to speak to us in new ways. As a mom who works outside the home full-time, it is often hard to find that “recovery place.” You have heard me vent about that countless times before, I know. One way of keeping my head above water is praise music. Sometimes I feel so overwhelmed and taxed that it is hard for me to concentrate on reading Scripture or a devotional book or even an inspiring blog. I will find myself flipping the pages of my Bible or a book or staring at the computer screen and just scrolling without really reading. God uses music to speak to me and fill me and change my frame of mind. I often crave quiet (which I rarely get) but oh, how precious those few quiet moments can be.

  • 5. kaysie  |  January 8, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    Hi Maggie,
    This is my first time to visit your blog, and I just wanted to say hey.
    The Scripture you posted really blessed my heart, for God is really teaching me to continue to go higher with Him in this Christian journey.
    Thank you for sharing.

    God bless you and your beautiful family.
    Kaysie
    http://www.inlovewithChrist.wordpress.com

  • 6. Lisa @ The Preacher's Wife  |  January 8, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    I SO agree about the importance of this community, Maggie. Being a pastor’s wife, I am unable to vent with any single person I know in town, but I’m safe to share things with one of you girls and trust you to comfort me when the hurt/aggravation is justified or set me straight if it isn’t. 🙂

    much love to you friend!!

    Lisa


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 984,341 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


