Sunday School Lesson for 12-30

December 30, 2007 at 12:14 am 1 comment

I’m preparing for second grade Sunday School tomorrow.  The title of the lesson is “Wise Men Sought Jesus”.  I suppose I can spin that…but we’ve hashed the story for four weeks already.  My last turn was fun (every other week, a GREAT plan for getting some adult SS and still getting to help teach…automatic sub built in…I highly recommend it).

I took those little puzzle-slide games where you shift the pieces of the picture, then have to slide flat squares to try to get the picture back in order.  I had them for gifts and figured if we didn’t work them in class, they would be displaced in a few days with the latest gaming systems!  So, I built the lesson around them.

They LOVED them…worked on them fervently for a long time and asked me to help if they got frustrated or stuck…then they’d want to take over again.

We talked about how the prophets had received prophecy that often looked like a scrambled picture…and how, piece by piece, God helped clear the picture up so that they could see what it meant and how it all fit back together…how the prophets must have felt as clueless at times as they did working on the puzzles. 

We talked about how life is sometimes like that…and how sometimes we need help for a while getting to the next point.  But, how God knows what the picture will look like and how he puts it all back in order again in His time.

That was a fun lesson.  

But, tomorrow?  Whew…I have no idea and it’s late.  I may do a “Chicken Soup for Children’s Soul”.  As luck would have it, I have Kroger cookies on hand.  That saves any Sunday School lesson!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

The 28th Day of Christmas FAVs

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. ~E  |  December 30, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    You have a talent for taking ordinary things (the picture puzzle) and turning them into a lesson. I am not that good! I also waited to the last minute to get my lesson together and ended up doing something a little different this morning. We did a “review” using the game “Connect Four.” We divided into teams and each team had to answer a question correctly in order to get to play. The kids really enjoyed it. (I am putting that puzzle idea down on paper for future reference!)

    Maggie: Thanks, E! You are such a good encourager!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 981,434 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


