My “ONEs” for the Year

December 30, 2007 at 9:12 pm 3 comments

One word for the year…that’s what I’ve been thinking toward the last few years.  One phrase.  One scripture.  One thing. 

I can do that.

Today Sunday School, I forgot my short story book…where prayers are made: “Lord, help!”

The early AM services helped move us into the direction of resolutions–where I wanted to go.  I’d made stars for the kids to write their “one word”, but I needed a story to tie it together before class.

We talked about a short word or phrase goal for the year.  Some of mine have been:  “Smile.”  “Joy.”  “Shine”.  “Seek peace”. 

When class started, I said, “Does anyone know what ‘resolution’ means?”

By the time we finished, I was teaching them about pictures and clarity and computer screen resolution and pixels…and we decided that “resolutions” lead to “higher resolution”…a clearer picture in our lives of Christ.  Now, how cool is that?

We put our one word on a star and decorated it with sequins, putting thoughts around the one wor that gave us some direction as to how to attain the one word goal.  Finally, I helped them find scriptures that spoke to that goal.  Everytime I shared a key word I’d focused on, one of them would pipe in spontaneously with a song to go with that keyword.  Eli was the first, then Keely, then others.  I told them they were like the funny  little mice on the movie “Babe”. 

After they shared their words:  “health, active, attitude…(great thoughts)”, I shared mine:

2007-12-30-001.jpg

Ta-Da!  It always feels like magic of some sort when I get my “new word” for the next year.  It usually comes from repeat exposure, a sense of awe and inspiration that comes–something that I can’t get out of my head.  Usually something that surprised me or caught me as “new” or relevant or needful.  Not necessarily divinely inspired in any spiritual moment…just something I can focus on as a whole and be walking in the right direction in seasons where things may feel “fuzzy”.

This year’s came from a scripture Bro. Ray brought out about a month ago, 2 Timothy 2:22.  All three of these have similar and basic elements that describe an effective walk with Christ:  turning, seeking, and pursuing. 

  1. Psalm 34:14 (Support verse, OT)
    Turn from evil and do good; seek peace and pursue it.
     
  2. 2 Timothy 2:22 (My One VERSE)
    Flee the evil desires of youth {[note to self:  think about what those are]}, and pursue righteousness, faith, love and peace, along with those who call on the Lord out of a pure heart.
     
  3. 1 Peter 3:11 (Support verse, NT re-quoted))
    He must turn from evil and do good; he must seek peace and pursue it.

I’d like to add this year to teach them to my kids.  Key verses.  I can do that.

Entry filed under: Church, Everyday, Faith, Family, Parenthood, Parenting, Teaching Sunday School. Tags: .

FAVs Random Photos 12-08

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. L. Paxton  |  December 31, 2007 at 9:33 am

    Thanks for being a Sunday School teacher! You’re doing a great job and your gift is teaching!!

    Maggie: Thanks, L. I don’t know if it’s a gift or not, but God has blessed the obedience. It’s my turn to give back…for so many have given to me and my family when they were little and I was too overwhelmed to help out!

  • 2. Holly Smith  |  December 31, 2007 at 5:14 pm

    My word is “yet.” It has been a yet year.

    I like pursure, too!
    Blessings on you, my friend! I ask that the God of Hope will fill your 2008 with more of Himself.

    You are a blessing!
    Holly

    Maggie: I love that word, too, Holly. “I will “yet” praise You, my Saviour and my God!” Blessings to you and your precious family, so faithfully waiting on Him!

  • 3. Jules  |  January 1, 2008 at 10:55 am

    May you learn to pursue with all your heart this new year.

    Maggie: Thanks, Jules! I hope things are going well out west!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 982,316 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


