Scripture Memory Thoughts

December 26, 2007 at 1:58 pm

I’ve noticed my kids breaking out into song as they walk around the house, even today.  You know what they are singing?  “We Three Kings”.  They were bored with it while we learned it.  They complained about it.  They stumble over the words, a bit…but now that they KNOW it.  they sing it to themselves as they go about their day!

I need to use the same approach and tenacity in teaching memory verses.  They may not be amused by it, they may gripe and complain, but when they are alone and when their thoughts turn…they will be turning over a lifeline in their minds and hearts. 

I’m trying to think of a way to incorporate more scripture into our family times this year, especially since they aren’t in Christian school getting it everyday anymore (we are enjoying public school, actually…they were just ready for it, and the Lord led us there, we feel). 

I found some used NavPress memory boxes…two boxes.  I may challenge my husband to learn them with me.  He’s asked about cards before.  As we go, we can challenge ourselves to teach our kids, I think.  You can buy them.  They come with KJV on one side, and NIV on the other.  There are links below.

I like to memorize NIV best.  It’s pretty standard in language and useage.  If I need to find the verse later, NIV concordances are the best in the NIV Study Bible. 

I got a pack of mine used from an elderly couple in our church to use.  I got another matching pack at a second hand store for $.50.

My vinyl holder are pretty worn out, so I looked at this link: Topical Memory System: Verse Card Holders: The Navigators
I got sappy just reading these awesome comments people wrote in there:

verse cards/packs
I am passionate about memorizing God’s Word having been raised in a Christian home that valued scripture memory. In trying to pass that on to Sunday School classes and Bible studies we are involved in, we have found it helpful to provide a “starter” kit. We have found that bulk,perforated,printable business cards are perfect (found in the computer paper section of most stores), and business card holders are easily found in office supply stores in cloth, leather and vinyl. While some of them lack the clear outside window, they work well and can be purchased in leather for as little as $5. They are slightly bigger than conventional verse cards, but we actually find them easier to use. We pray this information is helpful.

Posted by Janet Feb 26 2007 9:00AM

Leather Verse Packs
Leather verse packs for sale. Contact Tom @ tdclat@swbell.net or 918-524-1743.

Posted by Tom Aug 25 2006 4:17PM

I make verse packs for Eagle Lake Camp
I make these for Eagle Lake and a few Navigator collegiate staff. I make them out of vinyl and printed cotton fabric. Email me at halfpinthouse@gmail.com if you would like info. Thanks!

Posted by Megan Jun 5 2006 3:23PM

verse packs
I began my scripture memory use of verse packs in 1977 and have been thru three or four and was hoping to find a couple more for the future. I’ve owned both the vinyl and the leather and much prefer the leather. Scripture memory has been the most influential discipline in my walk with the Lord. Relying on God’s Word on a moment-by-moment basis has been made possible by this great tool. I don’t know of any Christ-centered discipline which affords the believer such instant access to His thinking and heart which in turn lends itself naturally to meditation, prayer, and application. I can go for a long walk or drive and meditate on His Word with hardly a fuss. I have gotten so dependent on memorizing God’s Word that I will pick up my memory verse pack before I pick up my keys or wallet whenever I leave the house. It has become highly essential for me as I have found His Word to be truly liberating. I find in His Word promises of forgiveness, guidance, comfort, joy, peace, wisdom, understanding, mercy, help, restoration, strength, goodness, kindness, gentleness, faithfulness, patience, hope, love, care, concern, rescue, honor, deliverance, protection, provision, answered prayer, sustenance, rest, the list goes on and on.

Posted by Greg Cales Jun 5 2006 2:24PM

Still looking at holders, here’s another great source of information and tips on using cards:

The best option for a holder would be one with a window.  Office Depot carries one in their stores (but not online) that has a window.  It is the Buxton Genuine Leather Business Card Case (OD85-958). 

     The vinyl card holders sold by the Navigators (included in the TMS) have a window.  The advantage of the window is to show the verse you are currently working on without pulling the card out.  The drawback, however, is the size of the cards.  The cards used by the Navigators are smaller than your standard business card, therefore the Navigator cardholder will not hold a business-size card.  Here is a template for Microsoft Word that is the same size cards as the Navigator cards.  You will have to print them on cardstock and cut these cards out.

     Next, and most importantly, you must make a commitment to carry the card case with you everywhere you go.  For instance, you are standing in line at the grocery store or Wal-Mart.  That is a perfect time to pull your verse out and read it over several times.  Carrying your memory verses must become a habit.  Don’t leave home without them! 

read more tips from the source: here 

Entry filed under: Learning.

Lessons from a PSII Barbie Game Memorization Tool for 2008


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 978,846 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


