Christmas Morning!

December 25, 2007 at 12:28 pm

Disney Channel’s Christmas Event–a well done show.  Disney teaches it’s people to act, perform, and “be” the part all the time.  I love that about Disney.  Just a little Mom note here for Miley:  “Miley…you are a sweet girl, and a good example, but your holiday dress didn’t fit the bill.  It was WAY too short.  Don’t give in.  PLEASE, set the barre high for yourself and your standards.  We love your show.  I’d love to have a role model for my daughter who lives life well and knows when to stop.”  Okay, I’m done.  Don’t want to be a downer (but, frankly, that was).  I don’t call revealing-wear “fun, or cute”, but that’s for another day.  Stay positive. 

Man! Christmas morning has been great here today.  I was a little fearful it was going to be a trainwreck, and it could have been if not for the grace of God.  We are all running of SO little sleep, and The Hub got NONE last night.  I think I had four hours the last two night.  Thankfully, Mom was here to help me with last minute gifts, candies, stockings, and things.  She was a dear.  My back is hollering at me this morning:  must.  have.  sleep.  must.  slow.  down…A LOT.  So, I plan to try to get napped up before we go to moms.  I’ve taken some meds to try to help today, but still…I’m maxxed out.  I envy those women who have gifts bought and wrapped by the first of December.  I’m going to try that some year!  It would be nice to not be exhausted on Christmas Day!  Note to self (sorry, and to the entire internet who doesn’t care about my yearly habits in the least!)

Last night, we drank fresh cappuccinos.  Today, we had homemade cinnamon rolls for breakfast.  I think my Cap. maker needs a new gasket…it’s spewing water…HOT water.  I hope I can get that fixed.  They are so fun for the low, low price of $5.00 or so. 

We read “The Night Before Christmas” and finished some Golden Books Mom found last year I’d asked her about that she got us when I was 3 years old.  My kids read them to ME this year!  Some of the pages need repair, but I loved seeing them again.

We cuddled by the fire, cooked a ham, and planned food for today…light fun, only what we have the grace for.  Right now, I’ll do well to get there.  Must.  Have. Nap.

I just got finished with my foot soaking from my daughters new Homedics machine.  Mmmm.  That was a good gift choice for her.

Red is trying so hard to put together Star Wars complex things together, and he did, but they keep falling apart on him.  He’s starting to get very frustrated!  He worked so hard though, I’m impressed!

Boy Wonder got a Colts four game set leading up to last year’s SuperBowl.  He’s loving that.  He got a ball goal he’s been begging for as well.

Goldilocks is skating around my kitchen on rolling tennis shoe thingies and loves her in-line skates.  She REALLY loved that Santa got Mom a pair, too, so that we can skate together!  Mine had 1-2 wears and the price on the box was $80.00.  I got both pair for about $4.00.  I’m still excited about that…can you tell?  I don’t mind bragging on the Lord.  He is so worthy of it!

My big gift?  Oh, I hate to give it away.  I might sit on it for a while.  I can hardly believe it myself.  Oh well, okay.  My hub asked around about a decorator who might work well WITH me in putting our home together.  I’m having trouble choosing furniture, flooring, and updating the decor and feared someone going overboard and just getting everything new and killing my personal sense of style, sensability, and sentimentality.  So, I’m really excited that he took the time to think of those things and ask around people he knows to see who might be good for me.  She can do as much or as little as I want her to do.  I am excited to go over some of the pages I’ve torn out of magazines over the last few years preparing for decorating.  You might remember that I didn’t let myself look at home decorating magazines for years because it just wasn’t where I was and I needed to practice contentment.  It worked!  But, now we NEED to do some things and I feel a little afraid of the process and the bulk of things that need to flow together.  He couldn’t have gotten me a better gift.

I got several other “little things” I wanted a lot:  a large slow cooker crock pot thing, a tiny crock pot for cheese sauce and dips, some crafty things, a book I’d really been wanting, some long sleeve shirts I got early. 

My daughter made me the most lovely green and pink necklace and ear-ring set from her beads she’d gotten for her birthday.  I am so proud to wear them.  They MATCHED MY PAJAMAS, YA’LL!  We were giddy over that.

There is surely much more to tell, but this is just a taste of our morning.  I hope to post some pics, and get together a video to send to Larry-Pop in Iraq.  I’ll probably wait until after I’m with the other grand-kids tonight.

Blessings to you, no matter what stage of life you are in…may you find ways to honor the day, find peace and rest and joy and happiness in the place where God has you.  It is there waiting.  I know that, because I know HE himself is waiting for all who seek Him.  Seek the moments.  Treasure them deeply–let them pour icing into all the cracks and crevices.  

Pray for me as I seek to be gracious to those who need a fresh touch.

Entry filed under: Christmas.

This Month… Christmas Afar


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa Photo: My Aunt, Working

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving Photo: My Family Reunion, Loving A Little One

Placeholder

For Future Links!

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe, Photo: my daughter’s hand

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 1,009,748 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Under Construction

A placeholder for cool stuff later.