Jolly * Merry* Bright*!!!

December 19, 2007 at 11:48 am

Christmas words are just great!

 “Let humble hearts enthrone Him”.  I caught that phrase today in “What Child is This” on the radio and just soaked in it for a while…the Christian message, so clearly spelled out in that song sung by John Denver over the airwaves of America. 

Wow.  The last day the kids are in school!  Most of the shopping is done, but I still don’t feel ready.  It feels like Christmas is tomorrow!  No…that would be jury duty. 😦 

Today:  shoppping for 10 days of meals X 5 family members at home to snack on all day.  My weapons of choice are fun cookies with sprinkles and Rudoph candies, fruit salad on hand at all times, sausage balls, Tyson chicken, and lots of it.  Brown beef X 3 pounds I’m browing right now for chili, sloppy joes, and tacos… and chicken salad.  Not to mention yogurt, juices, and POPCORN by the case.

Ethnic dishes with a lot of different flavors to break up the pallette…I’m sure to add a lot of spicey foods around Christmas.  They are fun, but don’t have any more calories than all the “extra” foods.

Today, I found another pair of in-line skates for $2.00!  Now I can roller blade with my daughter as she wishes.  I got her a used pair for Christmas, too, a few weeks ago.  They are normally $70.00 a pair, so I’m ecstatic about it.  Both pair were in great shape.

I also got a “science” children’s illustrated book set for.  They are slightly dated, but the whole set was $5.00, and the content was somewhat timeless, “How do gears work?”  “How does film work?”   I sat them by the fireplace…for our chats.

I like to bring in some new games and books for Christmas break so that the kids don’t just get their gifts close to the time the holiday is ending. 

I got Labrynth used today for $2.00.  I used to LOVE that maze-wooden crate game.  You turn knobs on each side to try to keep the metal marble from falling into holes.  I think I have the missing metal ball in our stash here.  

Wewill have fun with new games and puzzles all week!  I’m thinking of giving them some of their stocking stuffers early to work on this year as well.  Namely, I got some paint by number (I think I need to get one for myself I’m so excited about theirs.  I never had a nice paint by number set for some reason!  Probably the mess factor!  I’m leery myself!) 

Boy Wonder is into on-line magic tricks right now.  He had new tricks for us every day.  It’s fun to watch. 

I found Constant Comment Naturally Decaf tea today…I’m going to try that having run out of Lipton last night.  I like Constant Comments subtle blends.  Their regular decaf is a fav of mine.

Oh!  By the way, for fun Christmas ornaments, use the lids off of icing cans…they are already circular, bright holiday colors (they have red and blue often).  Add embellishments and a pic cut out into a circle and a hook.  We made them one year the kids were sick.  Fun to use things on hand for ornaments.

Well, the oven is ready for my Tyson BBQ-honey strip oriental salad lunch.  I’m going to use some fresh greens, the chicken, and dig some of the fruit out of the fruit salad in progress.   I’M HUNGRY! 

I’m so glad people have brought  sliced ham and turkey and breads as gifts this year!  I’ve needed help getting fed it’s been SO busy!  DELICIOUS banana bread and PUMPKIN bread…MMMmmmmm!  Thank YOU, PEOPLES!  Now, I can keep wrapping!!!!

Entry filed under: Christmas, Creativity, Faith, Family, Holidays.

God Understands: As Spoken by a 13 Year Old How Hard Can It Be?!


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 982,321 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


