Merry & Bright

December 14, 2007 at 12:23 pm

Last night’s community college at the church made my season.  It was a Christian, chill producing 50+ Christmas choir in  white shirts and red ties with an energetic, Christian, fun, pull-you-into-it young lady leading. 

Four thumbs up from us.  It was a well-spent family hour.  I begged them to come back next year…hopefully we’ll have more people in the audience than are in the choir.  I know two of the singers from Madisonville who are professionally trained singers, but I didn’t know they were part of it until last night. 

You never know from a college setting what you are going to get, but it was truly a superb performance I hope we utilize more fully next year.

I’m just sitting down to some Cheese Whiz and crackers, waiting on the oven to heat up so that I can cook my pre-formed frozen sausage balls.  Yes, something exists…they aren’t QUITE as good as the Bisquick version, but there is much more I’d rather be doing than washing my hands 15 times while, you know, forming raw sausage. 

The next best thing is pre-formed meatballs, which we are having for supper.  I bought swedish meatballs, some egg noodles, sour cream, and cream of mushroom soup.  I saw the recipe on the ball bag…sounds easy enough, and I’m into EASY cooking right now.  The way I see it, the Thanksgiving and Christmas meals are the two “have to” meals for a mom of the two months while preparing.  The rest of the time, we lose weight on ham and turkey sandwiches and soup!

I am SO excited about my shopping trip today locally!  I’d been praying about (Sssshhh!) my gifts for the women in our family.  [edited out for surprise element!]

For myself, I’m also getting my senior ring, my mother’s bracelet fixed, and my fav gold chain fixed.  It’s been the season for jewelry break-down.  I decided I’d rather wear my favs than get something new really.  I’ve not never found a good jeweler I was comforble with.  I like the folks over there a lot.  I’ll be back.  Hopefully they will be ready soon, though I told him  they didn’t have to be ready by Christmas.  I’m sure they have a lot to get done before then.

Other things that make me totally head-over-heels happy today:

  • Peter Pan Peanut Butter (you can argue with me all day long, and Peter Pan is STILL the best).  My kids won’t eat anything else now!  That samanilla scare a while back was very bad for our family for many months while it was off the shelf.  This morning, I had a leftover jar to finish and I STILL am hearing about inferior Peanut Butter and random oil.  Ah, I’m thankful to be able to afford Peter Pan.
  • DARLING nativity sets with the scriptures on each piece!  The entire set is on sale at Wal*Mart for $10.00.  Warning, one of them Mary looks cross-eyed, don’t get that one.  I bought several until I find someone who needs one they were so special!  I’m going to rework some gifts having found them! SO neat.
  • Modge Podge.  I’ve read about this product over and over and FINALLY found it at Wal*Mart in Matte, and all sorts of finishes.  It’s basically like a glue and an acrylic topper combined to seal dough ornaments, collages, and any paper on wood or other craft projects.  I’m psyched.
  • I found some awesome books “The Don’t Sweat Guide to Holidays:  Enjoying the Festivities and Letting Go of the Tension” by Richard Carlson, Ph.D.  They were on sale on a book table for $.75.  It isn’t a Christian based book, and I don’t take everything he says as gospel, but I love his emphasis on keeping things realistic and keeping the main things the main things. I’m putting them in my brothers stockings, I think.  They were 205 pp and great two page bathroom reads for couples.  I’ll probably enjoy it first.  🙂   I like books like this to review leading up to holidays.
  • Little bags of holiday trinkets and games and pencils for kids at Wal*Mart…I do not have the energy to order Sunday School class gifts, and this SO simplified my life!  Ahhhh!  Thank you, Wal*Mart!  I don’t care what anyone says about you…you made my day, today!
  • Kentucky Legend PRE-SLICED ham quarter.  THANK YOU WAL*MART.

Okay, the oven is ready, and I have a gift-wrapping fest planned before the kids need to be picked up in YEESH!  three hours!  So, off I go to munch sausage balls, Biltmore House Hoiliday Wassail (from a mix stirred with Cranapple Juice…thanks to Steve & Chryl last year!), listen to my new Christmas tunes, and WRAP for the kids LIKE A MAD WOMAN!

Blessings to you today!  Share a smile!  Someone I don’t know and will probably never see again waited on me several minutes at the door while my bag broke and I re-bagged things, just to hold a door open for me…it TOTALLY made my day.  Give random acts of kindness!  Today, someone found $20.00 on the sidewalk and asks me three times if it was mine, hesitant to keep it.  I told them it probably wasn’t…and finally I said, just pass it on to someone who needs it if you like.  They looked thoughtful, and nodded.  I think they will.  It’s moments like that that keep the season “merry and bright”!  Make some moments.

Oh my goodness, the jewelry store just called, my engraving is already done!  WOW!  I’m so tickled–okay, MORE tickled.  But, there goes gift wrap fest!  Whew.  I’m going to have to make some TIME!   Maybe I’ll wrap and reward myself with a trip back over there if I stay on task!   Gotta run!!!  No pics today!  Gotta go FAST!

  

Entry filed under: Christianity, Frugal, Thankful. Tags: , .

A Day Off Kilter Is Guitar Hero Right for Us?


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 981,556 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


