Jazz Up Your Christmas Wreath in 5 Minutes

December 7, 2007 at 9:30 am 2 comments

wreath-lit.jpg

This has been my front door Christmas wreath the last three years.  To it’s credit, I had a hoard of pine and fully ornamented stuff around it on the door so it didn’t seem so plain.  When lit, it was really pretty and simple.  But, during the day…ugh!  I love the cluster bulbs…I added those when the pre-lit part of the wreath no longer “lit”.  

It’s about time for a bigger wreath in general for this house, but the coveted “larger wreath” is currently $49.00 at K*Mart.  I thought I’d wait for a sale and see if I could find one later.

wreath-revamp.jpg

Wreaths with a lot of sparkle and ornaments are beautiful and make the front of a house, but they can be over a hundred dollars at the store.  I enjoy changing mine up a lot depending on my mood and decor, and it’s not hard to do.  I’m not a pro, but it’s fun, and I enjoy playing with it. 

Ornaments I  bought on clearance last year post season for it from Wal*Mart (I’m very high class), glittery flat ornaments hard to see in this pic, sparkly wine baby breath sprigs for fullness, silver stars, just for fun, poiensettas and sparkly fruit-like beady-things…both had fallen out of other things. 

Yes, I’ve seen ones I like better, but you have to say, it looks A LOT better! 

How do you attach stuff?  Stuff, and wire.  Glue ruins a wreath for future inspiriation.  Remember to prop the wreath up to place ornaments as they will hang on the door. 

Selections:  I hadn’t planned on using any glass bulbs, but decided they reflected the light so well I couldn’t live without them.  If you get a lot of wind in your area, you might give that some thought.  Plastic bulbs are probably best.

Ribbon (The Tying of the Dread Bow) 

One word:  wired ribbon.  It’s forgiving, and it can be bent back to shape coming out of storage. A little floral wire and you can do wreath bows. 

Bulk outlet card stores or craft stores will discount HUGE rolls of wired ribbon.  GET THOSE ON SALE!  You can use it on gifts and other decor for a cohesive look.  I buy several in coordinating colors.  There are books to tell you have to make bows.  I bought one at Wal*Mart and learned how.   

For now, just gather it up and tie some wire around it, squish it around until it looks somewhat even.  With all the lights and ornaments around it, you won’t be able to tell the difference…I promise.  Oh, and be sure to leave plenty wire at the end to tie the bow onto the wreath.

wreath-door.jpg

I am into mixing gold and silver this year.  I love them both.  I need them both.  I like them together.  If ebony and ivory go together, than I should have no problem.  I used a more rustic gold with a buffed silver and I think it works alrighty, but that’s up to your taste. 

Keep in Mind Ideas for the Next Step Up-Do:  Keep in mind things you are looking for.  For me, stiff sparkle mesh to weave around the wreath.   Sparkly curly sticks or sprigs to poke out of it.

Enjoy your wreath rennovation!  Send me a link to your pic.  I’d love to see your creativity!

Entry filed under: Crafts, Creativity, Everyday, Holidays. Tags: .

Maggie Replies FREE Streaming Christmas Music…Listen While You Work!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karla ~ Looking Towards Heaven  |  December 7, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    this is lovely!

  • 2. graceisenough  |  December 10, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    Wow! I know who to come see the next time I decide to get creative. I like to touch up my wreaths to, but have never made something as beautiful!!! You are way too talented, but I am glad you share your talents with everyone else!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 984,385 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


