Flowers from God: Fall Slideshow 2007

November 15, 2007 at 1:30 pm 10 comments

Song:  Nicole Nordeman’s “Every Season”

(as celebrated here through the lens of Fall)

Photos:  “Maggie”  11.15.2007

Tuesday, the rains were coming.  I’d been sick and under the weather the last week and was about to miss their grand finale.  So, I drove around with my camera in hand four about 40 minutes, just a few miles from my house, just enjoying, soaking it in.  When I got home, I realized what my Dad often did trying to take pictures of deer he’d spotted from the car…the exhilaration of spotting them and having the camera to prove it was fun, but the deer look microscopic in the pictures.  They often blurred, and a disappointment compared to the real thing.

So, I determined to go back out the next day, weather permitting, for a “walk-about“.  I dropped the kids off at school and saw an orange glory begging for my camera not far from the school.  And then the leaves on the sidewalk just down from that called, and then, a pretty gate not far from there, leaves as carpet.  On and on I went.  Come, look, enjoy, capture, treasure.

For three hours, my feet carried me, and time flew.  I had no idea it had been that long when I looked at my watch.  There are lovely places of peace and rest and worship to enjoy.  Your pumpkins thrilled me with joy.  Your flags caused me to celebrate, smile, and pause, many of them at the homes of veterans, I’m sure.  Rockers and swings all caught my attention, calling out: “You’re welcome to rest here–enjoy life slowly!”

Broken down places and building made beautiful with shawls of fall.  Houses with mattresses on the porch, I don’t know your story, but today, you were unnoticed for the glory around you.  Everything was lovely.

I hope these “‘flowers’ from God” cheer you and give you a meandering walk if you don’t have the time or strength or place.

I met the couple pictured in the slide-show.  They walked a long time together, and I crossed paths with them three times.  I said laughingly after shooting many leaves, “Well, I don’t guess I can have a picture of them all, can I?”  They said, “Oh, we thought you were taking a picture of us.”  I replied, “Well, YOU are a beautiful thing, too!?” I left it at that.  It would have made them uncomfortable, I’m sure, to know that I had.  They are some grandparents of a child in Red’s class–I’ll see if I can get them a pictures of their walk.

I walked until my battery, storage disc, and feel ran out, all within minutes of each other.

About that time, Bro. Rob G. drove up in his church van rolling down the window to ask , “Still enjoying your walk today, or are you ready for a ride back to wherever you started?”  I said, “It’s a beautiful sidewalk to miss, but I am wishing for a Claritin about now!  I think I will take a ride if you don’t mind too much.” “Oh, I don’t mind.  Hop in here.”  So, I did for the 3/4 of the block I had left uphill to the school.

I’ve known Bro. Rob forever.  He was best friends with Mike Brady–I was always with their families growing up, listening to their funny youth pastor stories.  Rob told me some friends from here once shipped he and his family a box of leaves to Florida when they’d moved there!  His wife sprinkled them all over the yard and the kids played in them!  Isn’t that great?  Everyone loves the leaves here.

Our own Bro. Ray asked last week what we did to refresh.  This is my time. Once a season, to capture some of it in my heart.

Entry filed under: Everyday.

How Precious to God Feed it Reese’s

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dori  |  November 15, 2007 at 1:44 pm

    B.E.A.U.T.I.F.U.L!

    Made me wish I lived where you live, friend!!

    Thanks for sharing. So special….

    Dori

  • 2. Stacey  |  November 15, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    How beautiful. I really loved that. 🙂

    Makes me want to open my eyes more often to the beauty around here.

  • 3. Linda  |  November 15, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    Thank you so much! It was like a trip home!!! 🙂

  • 4. KimL  |  November 15, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    I am beginning to realize the beauty of the season again. My dad died a few years ago in October, a couple of days after my birthday, and everything at the funeral home was fall arrangements. The first couple years it pained my heart to see all the fall colors come around – just reminded me of that difficult time. Now God has shown it to me as a true beauty again. Thanks for the slideshow to remind me both of my dad, and of God’s splendor!!

  • 5. bellissimanh  |  November 15, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    Breathtaking, Maggie! Gorgeous pictures! I wish I had an ounce of your talent… but I’m content to live vicariously through you. 🙂

    Seven-year-old Noah was watching with me and said it made him feel sad. He said the music was slow and sad, and the pictures were like losing the Fall. It gave us a great opportunity to talk about how God makes all things new. Thank you for inspiring conversation today.

    Heather

  • 6. bob  |  November 15, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    those are gorgeous shots.

  • 7. touchofglory  |  November 15, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    That was so beautiful! It made me realize that I need to stop and enjoy the beauty of my hometown. Thanks!

  • 8. ~E  |  November 16, 2007 at 8:10 am

    Thank you for that. It was just beautiful. I needed it this morning. Thanks for sharing what I have only been able to enjoy from the car window as I zoomed by.

  • 9. Kevin Eby  |  November 16, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    Well done.

    A friend at work was heading off to Pine Mountain today and told me that the fall here in Kentucky was more brilliant than in years past because of the drought.

    Drought brings brown grass then sharp colors…
    Ice storms bring downed limbs then new green growth…
    Tornadoes destroy homes then communities rebuild…

    God is good.

  • 10. Chris Dennis  |  November 16, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    Very nice work!!! Thanks for sharing

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa Photo: My Aunt, Working

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving Photo: My Family Reunion, Loving A Little One

Placeholder

For Future Links!

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe, Photo: my daughter’s hand

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 1,009,750 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Under Construction

A placeholder for cool stuff later.