Psalm a Day Reading Plan

January 12, 2007 at 11:58 am 7 comments

I feel like I could use a buff and polish today.  Nothing seriously out of whack or dented, but I just don’t feel “sightly”.  Ever felt that way? 

Here’s one of my cures right now and I hope it proves helpful again today.  I have no doubt that it will.  It’s proven trustworthy for several weeks running now.  Reading a Psalm a day.  So…

Someone asked me the other day why I chose to read Psalms.  The very same day, another friend emailed to say she’d taken it up, and that it was “helping”.  

When I first made the plan, I had intentions of sharing the things I’m learning, but most days, they really seem too precious to voice.  Ever been there?

So, back to why I chose Psalms? I find myself needing to fall in love head over heels with my Jesus this year.  Psalms seems a good place to start to remember how he feels about me and how I need to feel about him. 

I compared it to those times those of us who are married recognize when we just feel like we need a date…or two, or three.  The relationship has become trustworthy and familiar and valued…but, my friend said, “a bit stale”.  I don’t know if I feel “stale” in particular…life and his friendship to me is very exiciting.  Very adventuresome…always something to conquer together.  Perhaps that’s the thing.  It’s so much adventure and conquering that I’m a bit weepy and tired.  Just like that feeling I get as a mom.  I may love my husband very deeply and value all his does, but I just have the need again to know him, and know myself, and know his great love for me, apart from all the hoopla, responsibility, and daily grind.  Not that any of it is any less worthy or desireable.

I really can’t tell you how much it’s ministering to my heart of hearts just to stay caught up with a Psalm a day.  Sometimes I get ahead or behind, but it’s easy to keep up with and catch up when I “get hungry again”…sometimes I just need to “soak” in one for several days without moving on to someelse and “burying it”. 

As a rule, on the first day of the month, I read Chapter 1…all the way up to the 30, then I start again, adding 30 to find my place.  On the months with 31 days, I’ll read a third of 119 until I’m finished with it (it’s quite a long one). 

If I want more (say a morning and evening devotion), I’ve decided to read a Proverb as a rule.  There are 31 of those, so it’s also easy to keep up with.

Any extra reading or study I do is awesome, but that will keep me in the word when I just get maxed out “studying”.  I found that my “breaks” this year from studying left me not doing anything…and I need to stay in the word to stay grounded…we all do. 

I got the idea from  this post where several people serious about staying discipled as Bible readers commented on it.  At the time, I was looking for something for the new year.  In the past, I have gotten so far behind “reading the Bible in a year” that I decided to chew of something manageable that I could easily add other study to.  Almost a “devotional”, but not based on outside writers or writings, just the Bible…where I continue to hear from God himself.  Jesus is the word of God!

It’s not that I don’t think I couldn’t handle something more arduous, it’s just that, I’ve found I enjoy disciplines more when I leave myself time to “surf” places I need to go if needs come up.  Some studies and plans in the past, I enjoy, but they seem to tie me down too much to hear what God may be telling me to go tackle due to daily “stuff”.  It’s some level of discipline, without overcommitment.  

So, if you don’t have a plan to stay in the word yet, and have been intimidated by getting in the word in the past, consider joining me?  Today I am scheduled to read Psalm 30 + 12, because today is the 12th (I already read Psalm 1-30 last month). 

Next month, I’ll read the next “third” of the Psalms, found by taking 60 and adding the day of the month.  In this way, I’ll get through the Psalms three times in one year, and all of Proverbs 12 times (but I don’t do two devotions a day every day…just when I’m very “hungry”).  It satisfies…even more than a Snickers candy bar.  A friend gave me a small purple NT Bible I keep in my purse which has at least the Psalms in it also, if not Proverbs.  Yesterday, I read while I waited to pick up my son from school.  I found myself closing my eyes in a peaceful, thankful, zoned, rest when I got done.  And by the time he got into the van, I was ready to ask him with a cheerful and focused attention about HIS day.  I was full.  I love that about the word of God.  It satisfies.  Even on the most chaotic, crazy, confusing of days…he calms me.

I thought of the verse from Psalms this morning, “my soul is like a weaned child within me”.  

I think about it often.  Such a powerful word picture.  Not even sure I can articulate why it’s so packed with meaning for me.   Psalms are full of such mind filling phrases to meditate on.

I am keeping index cards in my Bible to try to make notes for myself on what I learn about God and myself as I go through.  If I get bored  need to stay focused in meetings, I’ll go through them and be “wow-ed” again.  The word of God just has staying power like that.

Let me know if you are jumping on board.  So, today, either start at Psalm 12, or 30 + 12. 

Entry filed under: Christianity, Discipline, Faith, Reads, Sprituality. Tags: .

Couldn’t Have Said it Better Sunday Review

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gchyayles  |  January 12, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    I’ve been reading Psalms but I think I’ve been reading more than one at a time, quick, rather than slowing down and trying to understand everything I read. I’m willing to try and read “with you”. I will start at Psalm 30 today. Blessings!

  • 2. gchyayles  |  January 12, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    2 O LORD my God, I called to you for help
    and you healed me.

    This has been especially relevant lately. He is Jehovah Rappah, God of healing!!

    Also,

    5 For his anger lasts only a moment,
    but his favor lasts a lifetime;
    weeping may remain for a night,
    but rejoicing comes in the morning.

    That is one of my favorite verses in Psalms. His favor is everlasting; new every day. I like how I’m reminded that pain is only temporary. God only allows us to go through things we can handle for as long as we can handle them. Glory to God!

  • 3. diana  |  January 13, 2007 at 10:35 am

    That’s so great, I love hearing of how God’s word satisfies and calms people. I feel it and I love to hear when other people feel it. We have such an awesome God I love it that you are falling in love with him again this year. God bless you and enjoy the psalms and proverbs and your other reading, I want to read the entire Bible this year but not in any particular order. I am doing a Proverbs in a month plan though, I might read Proverbs 12 times this year if it goes well for me this month :-)

    Love
    Diana

  • 4. maki ♥ squarepatch  |  January 14, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    that’s a good thing to do. sometimes i get lost in my own bible reading. a psalm a day, keeps the devils away!

  • 5. Rabbi James Miller  |  February 27, 2007 at 11:11 am

    How do I get a Psalm and Proverbs verse of the day on my space profile? It is very important since I witness to my own Jewish people who do not believe in the New Testament.

    Thank you,

  • 6. Pam Erselius  |  January 21, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    I didn’t understand your directions too well, but what I did is print out a yearly calendar and number each day consecutively 1-150(all the Psalms). This took me to May 29. On May 30 I started numbering 1-150 all over again. And again on October 27 (if I didn’t make any mistakes!). In my old Bible I have the dates filled in, on each Psalm. God bless.

    Maggie Replies: Sounds like a great start!

    I think was I did was: Jan 1, I read Psalm 1, on February 1, I read Psalm 31. On March 1, I read Psalm 61, on April 1, I read Psalm 91.

    If there were a day when there were 31 days, I simply read part of Psalm 119.

    Anything that works for you and makes it easy! Thanks for letting me know how it’s going!

  • 7. Cheryl O.  |  January 1, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    Hi, Maggie! Just found your blog when doing a Google search for ‘psalm a day.’ Thanks for your insights and tips! Blessings to you and yours. :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 926,082 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

