Whirley Pop: Trying Basic Recipes

January 17, 2009 at 10:33 am 12 comments

whirley-popper

Yesterday I bought one of these for my husband’s birthday, the stovetop Whirley Pop.  You can order them from Amazon, but I got mine at a local farming implement store, Rural King, where I’d eyed them before Christmas.

It is said to pop the freshest, most crisp corn out there.   Yes, microwave corn is easier and you don’t have the cleanup, but I just long for family pop-corn night involving the stove, and I’ve had this before and it was so crisp and fresh.

We upgraded our TV this year and are enjoying home movies this winter, so I thought some great popcorn on the stove would be a treat.  I remember my mom’s special popcorn pan with the red tin lid she always used and how we got so excited when we saw it come out…she only used it for popcorn, probably her oldest.

Last night, my girl turned the kernels, keeping any from scorching.  She is 10.  We kept an eye on her, for the pan lid gets hot, but you have a lot of wooden handles to hold.  She popped a perfect batch in three minutes.

jan-16-2009-002

I read today that gourmet or Orville Redenbocker corn is recommended for the best corn, and though I bought a bag of plain corn yesterday, I’ll be picking some up today.  It just didn’t have that super-crisp result I expected.  I’ll have to report back.  We did use some butterflavored oil by the same company, Wabash.  However, I wasn’t too crazy about it either.

I’ve read good results come with plain canola oil…I’m very excited about that because I love the flavor of canola oil.  In fact, their website says that any oil can be used.

I got this off their site today:

1 tsp. oil + 1 T. corn = 1 Quart popped corn

for a 6Qt. popper, use a minimum of 1 tsp. oil, and a max of 1/2 C. corn (a full batch)

Last night we used the recipe book and tried 2T. oil per 1/2 cup of kernels and I’d like to try less oil.

Entry filed under: Everyday. Tags: .

Me…Update Sunday

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  January 17, 2009 at 10:48 am

    We use a Stir-Crazy on a weekly basis. We all love it. We don’t do microwave popcorn, especially after all of the business of the fake butter causing cancer. (I know, I know… everything anymore causes cancer. LOL)

    I use 1/2 cup popcorn, 3 Tbsp oil (eyeballed), and 1/3 cup sugar to make kettle corn. It is SO good. My girls love it.

    I like the Orville Red-en-whatever corn because you can buy it in a resealable bottle. I always end up spilling the bags. It is much more expensive at Kroger, just FYI.

    I also use Olive Oil and it doesn’t usually add any olive oil taste.

    I hope you enjoy it! Real, homemade popcorn is very much worth the little extra effort!

  • 2. Misty  |  January 17, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    I’ve been popping corn on our stovetop for a couple years now. It just comes out so much better I think. Doesn’t taste “processed”. I just use my nonstick dutch oven with a glass lid. I usually use about 2 tbsp canola oil, 1/2 cup Orville Red. popcorn, vent the lid, then hold the pan with a towel to shake the kernels around every couple minutes until it starts popping, then I shake it more frequently. After cooking, I spray with Parkay spray margarine, and sprinkle with popcorn salt, shaking it and repeating sprays/salt a few times. It probably takes about 10 minutes total with this set up. I might spring for one of those gizmos you got someday :) I love popcorn!

  • 3. Misty  |  January 17, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    I’ve been doing mine on the stovetop for a couple years now. I love the fresh, “unprocessed” taste.

    I use a nonstick dutch oven with a glass lid. 2 tbsp canola oil with 1/2 cup Orville kernels. I flavor it after it’s popped with Parkay spray margarine and popcorn salt. Takes about 10 min with this set up. I might spring for one of those gizmos you got one day. I love popcorn!

  • 4. Cindy  |  January 17, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    ummmm, looks good

  • 5. bellissimanh  |  January 17, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    I love corn popped on the stove too! None of that micro-waved stuff for me. It just ISN”T the same. I prefer it burnt, but my family HATES that, so usually it’s perfectly popped. I prefer Canola oil as well, although I have some peanut oil and might try making it with that just to see what it tastes like. Hmmm… now you’ve got me in the mood for popcorn! :)

  • 6. Aunt Kay  |  January 17, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I’ve got one of these, have had it for years, I love it, try coconut oil in it, yummy! I just got Jo one. Did your mom ever get one?

  • 7. Kimberly  |  January 19, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    that was the pan i used for the popcorn at Upward the last 2 years. Never really had a recipe, just “eyed” what i thought i needed in oil and grabbed a handful or two of corn. still love it!! my pan is dented, scratched, definitely that worn, used look but the popcorn is still great!!

  • 8. Leah  |  January 21, 2009 at 10:41 am

    We were given a Whirley-Pop for Christmas and I’ve yet to try it. I bought peanut oil and we’re working our way through a 25# bag of organic white popcorn from the food co-op so I really have no excuse. Maybe tonight. Maybe. =)

  • 9. kathy  |  January 22, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    I am going to buy my first Wyirley-Pop today and am looking for healthy recipes to try. I have heard to use Olive oil and a little salt has anyone tried this. I am on a diet and love popcorn and I am looking for a low fat snack. Any ideas would be great!

  • 10. Karen  |  April 2, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    This popcorn is the greatest but it’s even better with coconut oil. The best place to buy the oil is from Swensons but you don’t need any additional flavors when using the coconut oil. Two tablespoons and 1/2 cup of corn makes for an amazing movie night!

  • 11. Karin  |  March 31, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    I absolutely LOVE my whirley pop! i’ll never go back to microwaved “popcorn” again! My favorite way to do it is with 1/4 cup canola oil, 1/4 cup kernels, and 1/4 white sugar, with some salt. I put the oil and kernels in until they start to sizzle, then sprinkle in the sugar and salt. Make sure you keep the mixture moving, cause the sugar can scorch pretty quickly. This is the best best BEST kettle corn you’ll ever eat! You can swap the white sugar for brown sugar for a more caramelized flavor also. I’ve been reading some other people’s ideas for flavor, and chili powder seems to be a popular choice, as well as garlic. I realize you posted this a few years ago, but I hope you’re still enjoying your home made popcorn!

  • 12. Maggie  |  June 12, 2012 at 7:17 am

    Love this idea, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 935,462 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

