VERY odd jobs…try it.

November 5, 2007 at 1:35 pm 2 comments

Well, to day has been a day to relax.  For me, that means getting some odds and ends caught up.  I mean, totally…odds and ends.  I have defined the words today.

For example, I accidentally bought my daughter and I the same style socks…and her shoe size is edging very close toward mine these days.  I’d been trying to imagine a way to differentiate socks, and finally thought of something better than my first trial…with was a yellow permanent magic marker across the toe line.  I couldn’t stomach that for long. 

I remembered today that I had a cute little swirl stamp and some permanant stamping ink–navy, but shows up well on the pink toes of the socks. Now, on the toes and heels of my socks, I have swirls.  Hopefully, my laundry days will be happy in the “whites” zone.  Ahhh.  That makes me happy.

Second, I had an old hand towel, hangy-thingy with zoo animals on it.  I’m all for the hand towel hangy thingy for the kitche, but the zoo animals got on my nerves.  I lived with them for some time for their usefulness, but now they are dirty.  I saw hangy thingy towels for like $15.00 and couldn’t force myself to ditch them…so I hand sewed an older bathroom towel that is thicker and doesn’t match anything else around here.  I like the thickness, but the sewing machine wouldn’t sew through two layers of it over the old existing towel…so I hand sewed it.  It didn’t take but ten minutes so don’t go thinking the Martha Stewart thing.  I save odd jobs like this for therapy.  They are quick effective as a diversion and cost much less than my preferred outlet of shopping.  In any case, I’m going to give it a try and see if it was worth it.

Third, I sewed some sequins on my daughters shirt to cover a permanent marker stain I couldn’t get out…the shirt is adorable, has a pupply dog and other sequined wording on it.  It just took three anchor stitches around the sequin.  You might have gotten away with French knots, but I followed the sewing pattern on the other sequins.  I’m rather proud of that save.

I’ve been forcing slave labor around here today…the kids can’t go anywhere until some of the “to-do” list is smaller…like tapes and DVDs falling out of everything (they are marking games and DVDs for a supposed yard sale I didn’t intend to have, but I’d pay them myself if it would motivate them to trash some stuff).

I also wanted someone else to walk the dog…boy wonder did that for me (he’s doing anything to get to Mamaw’s today for a while).  And, socks in the “not matches” buckets have to be gone through.

We did a fast breakfast with a new chocolate chip muffin mix I am all over.  It fills all twelve muffin cups and has a wonderful golden, sweet crust on the muffins.  I’d give you a brand name, but I’ve already taken out trash about four times today, I think.  Whew.  Actually, Boy Wonder did that for me, too.  It’s a sweet relief from doing all the mundane alone.

I hemmed two pair of his pants, the two that had blue denim thread.  If you hem jeans, look for denim threads in your sewing section, and denim weight needles.  They are about an 18 guage.  It makes sewing jeans bearable.  I need to get some golden yellow thread to finish the other two pair, and another pair of khakis for Sundays to go. 

Hopes failed this weekend on jeans for Flash.  The slim 6 was a great fit, but they have stopped putting elastic in the backs of them for this age, and he can’t stand the draft…the “shows my red elastic CARS underwear issue”. I can’t blame him for that!  We found one pair at Penneys with the elastic in the back, and went with blues and black elastic waist slacks from Children’s Place…they’ll cover spring and fall.  I had to go back to fives to fit him though, so I hope the length holds out.

Why in the world they don’t make those zip on things for the hem-line, I don’t know.  That would be a gift to mothers everywhere.

From this weekend, I have a bone to pick with Gymboree (children’s store)…we saw a pair of cords like the tan pair he loved from last year, but they had a snap waist rather than the elastic waist he liked.  We needed to try them on.  No dressing room, said the sales lady.  So, we hung them up and marched out of the store faster than you can blink.   Thanks for the help, Gymboree. 

My memories of Sbarros (mall pizza joing) were better than the result, too.  A soggy, huge peice of mess is what that was.  The kids couldn’t deal with it.  At $4.00 a slice, a person should go away satisfied, that’s all I have to say.  I rolled mine up into a pocket sort of thing and was happy as a lark with anything including cheese, bread, and pizza sauce. 

This morning, I read about twenty chapters of Psalms so far, today, trying to catch up in the one made up bed/semi-clean room I could actually find some rest in.  I’m hoping the laundry-reading marathon will catch me up today and tomorrow.  I’m finding the reading very fitting, so sticking with Psalms.  I had an inclination to skip it and stay on time, but once I sat down, found it was where I needed to be this week.  There’s just nothing like the Psalms to help prayers lift to the skies.

Well, those are the exciting things I have to share with the world today.  I’m hoping to make my speciatly SPARE BBQ RIBSfor the fam tonight for supper…I’d better get started on those pronto!!!  MmmMMM.  My mouth is already seriously watering at the thought.

Entry filed under: Rambling. Tags: .

You’re All I Want Election Day–A Day to Clean the Carpets

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. KimL  |  November 5, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    Boy Wonder told me the last time you made those it was the best meal he had ever had in his whole life!! You go GIRL!

  • 2. bellissimanh  |  November 5, 2007 at 11:06 pm

    What a wonderful hodge podge of “stuff!” Don’t you love it when you feel like you’ve accomplished something, even if no one else gets it? Sounds like a satisfrying day. God bless you, Maggie :)

    Heather

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 926,217 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

