50 Things I Love About My Husband

July 10, 2007 at 8:38 am 12 comments

Tomorrow is my 15th Wedding Anniversary.  Wow.  I could write…50 Stupid Things I’d Done To Make Life Harder for My Spouse…but, we’ll keep this upbeat.   I’ll focus on my stallion of a man.

1.  He’s faithful.

2.  He honors me by not watching shows on TV that feature scantily clad/seductive women and is teaching my sons the same.

3.  He helps me raise our children…he’s truly a partner.

4.  He stays in a good mood when he gets home…even when he’s had a really, bad day (how does he DO that?)

5.  He lets me do some different projects to keep me from getting bored around here, and then picks up the pieces for me (like last night, supper).

6.  He celebrates small things, like the weather…every day.

7.  He makes me great coffee on the weekends before I get up.

8.  He checks my vehicle before long trips to make sure the dipstick is… where it’s supposed to be…or something.

9.  He takes out the trash without my begging, sometimes even by surprise.

10.  He buys me flowers on my birthday and on our anniversary with great regularity and the arrangements always have some hidden meaning he has to explain to me.

11.  He lets me change my mind about what we want to do for special days so that we both feel it’s refreshing.  (Just because shopping/eating out/going out [whatever] worked one year doesn’t mean that’s what we need to do every year.   Sometimes doing “nothing” is special!)

12.  He takes pride in the yard.  I think it’s awesome, and funny, and annoying sometimes.  But, it looks awesome and I’m always proud of his attention and effort toward home.

13.  He’s handy with things around the house and loves to do them to surprise me…like a new handle on the back door when I woke up this morning I’ve been wanting! Now when I have guests and bowls in my hands I need to take outside, the lever just pulls down…I don’t have to turn it anymore.  Yeah!  Thank you!

14.  He enjoys his quiet times and is filled by them.  (Thank You, Lord for a godly man).

15.  He gets up in the middle of the night without being asked to help me through crisis like vomit or sickness or fears.  He’s usually not too grumpy about it the next day…neither am I. {ahem}  ;)

16.  He puts up with my odd behaviors, like my inability to produce greetings in my fatigue.

Him:  “Goodnight honey, I love you.”

Me:  “MmmHmmm.”

My response can be interpreted as: “Yes, I know” “Thank you”, or “Yeah, me, too”…just depending on his needs.  It’s not laziness, it’s just a very versatile response.

Him:  “How did you sleep?”

Me:  “I slept.   I’m not sure.”

Him:  “Well, that sounds good.”

He comes from a family that commentates and narrates a lot…mine wasn’t a real “talky” family on these sorts of things [weather, sleep, livestock, grass color], so I have trouble, but I enjoy listening to his cheer, it’s just one sided on some topics.  One day, I’ll wake up and jump right in there on those.

17.  He puts up with my obsessive nature on projects that consume me at times.  And he makes me stop when I need to get back to life.

18.  He reminds me of things I need to do, places I need to be, people I need to see.  And, that’s a good thing.

19.  He’s taken care of the kids and gets them ready on Sunday so that I can do praise band since I had babies.  Three children 4 and under, in a pew…and two of them in diapers.  The man is  a saint.

20.  He brings me treats home from work when someone brings them to him…most of the time [ahem].

21.  He gets the kids excited, very excited, about Mother’s Day.  He dresses them up, and makes sure they have fun cards to give me, takes me out to eat, makes sure I don’t need major shopping, and asked me what I’d like to do…he makes the time.

22.  He doesn’t need the latest and greatest of everything to stay happy–is committed to trying to keep things as simple as possible so we can just enjoy family.

23.  He minimizes his life so that we can enjoy being together in the evenings.  Sometimes it’s still crazy, but that sure helps.

24.  He’s game for anything.   I took him skiing on his 40th birthday for both of our first times, and he could have wimped out on the idea or told me I was insane, but we made it so fun.  What a riot that was!  Yes, we both fell off the lift several times trying to get off.  I think I dove off the side of the chair at one point and missed the ramp altogether.

25.  He helps me get the house ready for trips, and has gotten so patient with delays.  He’ll go get gas, run errands to get the kids fed, if needed, so that I can get the house “last minute” clean before we leave.

26.  He works shopping into family vacations out of town if the kids need things/occupies them while I get a bit of personal time and shopping done.  (Ahhh.  Thank you!)

27.  He is happy with simple meals, as long as there is food.  He even compliments it, every meal.  And prays for God to “bless the hands that prepared it”.

28.  He understands a busy day, even when it seems nothing much got done.

29.  Green grass is his favorite thing in life.  He talks about it a whole lot.  “Wow! I think the grass is even greener than yesterday.  Come, look!”  Me:  Sigh.  Again?  “???”  “Okay, honey, I think you are right.  Good job.”

30.  He helps me with the Christmas lights so that the holidays are fun and exciting.  It breaks up winter with celebration.  He helps get it out and put it away.

31.  Coffee:  Christmas morning, all his doing.  THANK YOU!  I usually need the caffeine majorly, Christmas morning (and thank you for my perfect black short coat last year, even though you’d been WAY to sick to shop.  WOW I can’t wait for winter!)

32.  He treats me like I’m beautiful, though I’m aging.

33.  He gives me down time.

34.  He cares for me and listens to me and sympathizes with me.

35.  He uses his spiritual gifts and likes to serve others and makes me proud.

36.  He stays active and loves to be productive.  He encourages me to do big things, too.

37.  He’s always improving/working on the house with “un-noticed” tasks, and that makes me feel that he cares for us.  Toilets fixed, sink drips repaired before he heads out the door or goes to bed.  I don’t even have to ask, I just tell him.  He’s awesome!

38.  He goes with me on artsy weekend and trips and has a great time, though he’s not artsy.

39.   He gets excited about the things that I get excited about.

40.  When I run out of steam, he picks up and gets going.  I love him for that, and don’t deserve it at all.

41.  He puts the kids to bed many and most nights for me.   I love his commitment to our kids.

42.  He lets me complain when he leaves his clothes out, but doesn’t complain when I leave mine out [Well… I DO have to put them away].

43.  He cooks an awesome omelet, not runny.

44.  He taught me to make great pancakes,  fluffy rice, to marinade meat–we learned to cook baked ziti together (he didn’t know he had to cook the noodles first!)  :D  I felt so smart.

45.  He was an awesome labor-birthing coach.  Praise God.  I let him live.

46.  He waits for good things.  We’ve lived here three years and still don’t have a sofa in the Living Room.  But, when we find it, it will be just right.

47.  He worships whole-heartedly beside me; how empowering to my faith and joy!

48.  He is real with me when days are hard and he needs backup prayer.

49.  He involves me in his life, but shields me when it’s too much.

50.  He is much more gifted than I am in some things, but let’s me try anyway when I need to, without judging.  He encourages me and gives me good advice when I need to hear it and is quiet and prayerful when I can’t take it.

50 for now.  That was fun.  I may add some later.

I love you, hubby!  You are the love of my life and I just couldn’t make it without you.  I wouldn’t want to try.  You are the icing on the cake, the cream of the crop, the smile that I long to see, and the voice I want to hear when I go to sleep and when I wake up.  You make life great for me.  Thank you for all you do and all you are!  I can’t wait to live out the next 15 with you.  It’s gone by so fast.  Truly.  You are my every dream come true.  God has been so good to us.
A family…what a gift.
maggie-gif-no-shadow.gif
div-stripe.gif

Entry filed under: Mine!. Tags: .

Arg. Wedding Stories

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cj  |  July 10, 2007 at 8:53 am

    What are sweet tribute to a great guy! Proverbs talks about a good wife……but a good husband is a treasure found. We will be doing our 29th this year. A 29 year partnership is rare these days no matter what the venue. May God bless you with 15 more wonderful years…the best it yet to come.
    LOL
    Cj

  • 2. Karla~Looking Towards Heaven  |  July 10, 2007 at 10:47 am

    Maggie –

    Happy (day early) anniversary!! Our 10 year anniversary is thursday!

    This is such a sweet list!

    Are you going to post a wedding photo?

    Blessings,
    Karla

  • 3. livingfragrance  |  July 10, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    Great! So excellent to see and read how you appreciate your husband!!! Congratulations by the way!!!

    Shalom
    M

  • 4. livingfragrance  |  July 10, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    Thanks for your comment on my blog… what do you think about ladies my age still being single? (never been married..)

    Maggie replies: In short, I think it’s wise to wait for someone who you can’t live without rather than marrying someone you can live with. Wise advice I heard once. Praying, “Lord, I’d rather live alone with you than marry and not be in the center of the will you have for my life” is a very strong prayer. I sense that in your heart from your blog. (I’ve also emailed you). Thank you so much for the precious comment, and to all of you. God’s richest to you
    ~Maggie

  • 5. Misty  |  July 10, 2007 at 4:54 pm

    All I can say is Awwwwww!!! Hope you have a great day together!

  • 6. mea  |  July 10, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    Happy anniversary! I love how you positively described our “narrative” family. It sounded so much more positive than “boy, these people talk a lot when they are together…usually all at the same time!” I think most in-laws in our gang are shocked…I know my husband was! Hope you have a super great day tomorrow.

    Love Ya,
    Misty

    Maggie replies: Well, yes, it’s not so much that they talk a lot, they are just like a home show…they speak each step they are doing. I just work so much faster quietly…except for times I forget things, like two gallons of milk in the van from the store yesterday. And I think to myself…if I thought out loud more, perhaps I’d remember some things I forget!!!

  • 7. Kevin Eby  |  July 14, 2007 at 11:00 am

    This whole post was great, but knowing and appreciating your husband as a friend and brother, I appreciated your description of him as “narrative”.

    Although I believe that you might respond, “MmmHmm” occasionally in a verbal conversation, I doubt it is very often. You are certainly in the top 0.01 percentile in number of words typed narratively, so I’m skeptical about you being in the lower 50 percentile of verbal narrative.

    Maggie: HA! I hear you, bro. Note that we were discussing things like sleep, weather, food {include livestock and business], and greetings. I just can’t keep up on those. I get too tired. He is very patient to have married a “city girl” as his Dad calls me. I listen.

    Hubby reads my blog to catch up with my thoughts very often. I’m lucid when I’m not temperamental with the kids…when I’m writing. The rest of the time is unfortunately a little sketchy on the conversation skills.

    “Narrating” is different than talking in general. Similar to sports commentating. Eric’s Mom practices this as well. I think it’s because she has only two boys. Early in my marriage, I remember her cooking:

    “I’ll just get out this cabbage and get it washed. I have my grater here. I’ll just get this sliced. This knife isn’t all that sharp. I’ll just get out the sharpener and sharpen it. I’ll just start grating it like this. We’ll get these potatoes turned up a little. I’ll get out those carrots. I just washed the carrot peeler. I’ll just grate these down…”

    She was probably trying to teach me!

  • 8. bellissimanh  |  September 23, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    *sniff, sniff* Beautiful list.

  • 9. Maggie  |  September 28, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Belilissimanh, I’m not sure how in the world you ran across that old post, but re-reading it blessed me. We are doing the marriage study, as you know, and I probably need to email that to my husband as well! I was in a mood to be thankful that day, wasn’t I?

  • 10. Ananya  |  August 19, 2010 at 1:31 am

    I jus forgot 2 greet my hubby on our 1st Anniversary.. hmm.. althou he ws as calm as ever.. He z such a darling.. m jus crazy bot him… i luv him so much.. mmmuuuuaaahhh.. I alws cheerish our Luv/ wedlock…

  • 11. Ananya  |  August 19, 2010 at 1:33 am

    I luv My Darling Hubby.. Kuchie Pie !!!!!!!! :*******: he gives so much tym 2 our relation esp. nps

  • 12. Holly  |  August 7, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    Wow this is the most sweet list ever! :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 942,482 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

