How to Can Green Beans: Canning Tips

July 18, 2006 at 10:57 pm 115 comments

This post gets a lot of traffic and has been helpful to many people.  That’s great!  Let me just address a couple things, however.

1. I have NO KNOWLEDGE OF THE WATERBATH METHOD.  Please don’t email or comment asking me how to do that.  This is the plain ole canning method only.

2.  If your beans turn cloudy or milky, I have no idea why…you’ll have to search further.  I’ve never had that problem.  Only thing I know to suggest is to make sure you are using iodized salt and have your bands tight enough.

beans13.jpg

HOW TO CAN GREAN BEANS 

In short:  10 Pounds for 25 minutes

Step by step:

Intro: This bean’s for you.  My mother canned, my grandmother canned, and my in laws all can.  Thus, I can.  We have the best recipe in the world by now, of course!  Here are the details, step by step.

Disclaimer: Note that I am not a professional and am not responsible for misinformation or accidents, though I’ve edited this 4-5 times to try to be sure and have done it many years.  Double check with other respectable sites.  I’m happy to try to answer questions you may have…simply post questions in the comment section.  Enjoy!

1.  Pick, Break, & String the Beans. If treated with insecticide (locally, primarily for Japanese Beatle prevention), wait until after a rain to pick, or according to insecticide directions. Rinse green beans thoroughly and allow to dry before breaking.  Or, some people rinse after breaking to avoid strings sticking to the beans. I use a strainer to rinse green beans for ease–you can just use a clean sink full of cool water.  Cool water keeps the beans crisp.

Stringing: I string by pulling the tip off the end, string that side, then turn the bean to the other end, pull that side.  Now, if the string breaks before it reaches the end of the bean, no problem…as you break the bean, you will also be aware of any string still there and pull it them.  Get all the string off that you can.

Break beans–we break into three pieces.

If it takes a while to break all your beans, and you have the refridgerator space, they stay more crisp and easier to break if chilled.  Cut off bad spots with a sharp knife kept handy.  My younger children pass to me any beans that need trimming, or put them in a bowl for me.

Just peel any very soft, or over-ripe beans that will not break, using only the beans, unless you don’t like the beans.  Discrad any shriveled, “shucky” (very thick skinned, overgrown beans), or overly flat beans–they tend to be chewy.


2.  While others are breaking beans, or during a break if you’re stringing them yourself (bless your heart) begin washing jars in as HOT a sink of water as you can stand…at least rinsing in almost scalding water. If you have a dishwasher, use that to disinfect the bottles.  Go ahead and let them go through the “dry” cycle.  Also, wash any older or used bands in hot water or run through dishwasher.

When you get close to the time of canning, you will put the lids and bands in a pan of simmering water.

3.  Determine if your jars are WIDE mouth, or “regular” mouth jars.  Wide mouth jars, the rims are just about even with the jar…regular mouth jars go in to about 1/3 the size of the perimeter of the rest of the jar.

Buy appropriate lids for your jars, or buy everything together in a box if you are totally new to canning.  Most stores sell them that way as well.  They are not that much more expensive and worth it to continue working rather than wondering about the cost if the beans are ready.  If you find jars at a flea market or yard sale, BALL jars or some other name brand are best…you know they are standard and suitable for canning.

Special note:  if you’ve bought a mixed batch of used jars, please BE SURE to weed out any jars that look like a mayonnaise jar…sometimes they get mixed in and ARE NOT suitable for the pressure of a canner.

If you have jars, find or obtain matching sized BANDS (screw on rings that go over the lids), buy them with lids (they are also commonly available as sets at some farm supply stores that carry canning goods, and our grocery stores also have a section) or send hubby running to your local grocer or supermarket.

To save money, yearly you can buy just new lids and re-use the rings.

If you buy a canner used (often availabe at flea markers, some with great, heavy, wooden handles), we took mine to a cooperative extension office to have them pressure it up for you to make sure the pressure guage is accurate.  Mine was just a few pounds off.  Not enough to worry about as it was over.  I wouldn’t want to underpressure them or blow the rook off the house.  Your canner needs to hold quarts, and it needs to go up to at least 10 pounds.  It will be a pretty good sized canner.  My canner holds seven quarts, I believe.  That’s a great size canner for a good canning.

4.  If you can from year to year, you’ll need to allote time to locate your canner and it’s gasket (check to be sure your gasket hasn’t gotten dry rot.  They are very elastic and prone to breakage if they’ve been stored outside or in a barn.  My advice is to NOT store the gasket outside for this reason.  Leave the gasket in your pans or towel drawer.  Make a mental note and store it in the same place every year.  The year you decide there is a better place to store it, you will probably never be able to find it and it will drive you crazy.

Locate pressure guage (probably attached to the cooker lid of a large canner).  Locate the screw down metal stopper that stops the pressure hold of the canner lid (mine is also attached).  Wash lid, checking to BE SURE the pressure hole is clear of any debris from last year’s canning.

(Note:  pre-test to see how many jars your canner will hold so that you know how many jars, lids, and bands to prepare).

beans6.jpg5.  As you get close to canning, put small sauce pan of water on to boil.  Do not boil lids, but keep them nice and hot at a low simmer for 15-20 minutes…use only the number you need.  This softens the seal on the lids.  TRY NOT TO STACK LIDS, BUT SCATTER THEM, AS SHOWN.  You don’t want them to adhere to one another.

6.  In advance, as lids begin warming, fill your canner about quarter way full of water.  Turn on heat to begin warming the water. Don’t get it TOO hot yet…don’t want to break any jars with too much a temp change as you put the jars in later.  Warm jars and warm lids help ensure a seal as the lids make contact with the water.  I have used clean, room temperature jars with no problems, however.

7.  Obtain/find either plain salt or “canning salt” (for use in #9).

beans3.jpg

8.  After you’ve rinsed the beans, fill jars with beans!  I fill to the full.  Some “tamp” beans down with a butter knife to pack them tight.  We never eat a full jar anyway, so I’m not to prone to tamp mine.

beans81.jpg9.  Add desired salt to beans.  I use 1/4 tsp. of canning salt OR 1 tsp. of regular salt PER JAR. Some say regular iodized salt can turn some veggies brown.  I’ve never found with beans and it seems to work, therfore, if I’m short, I exchange.

Add warm water to jars if you are close to time of canning –3/4 full of a WIDE mouth jar, or approximately to the curve of a ‘REGULAR MOUTH” jar.

beans10.jpg10.  With a clean towel, wipe the rim of each jar after adding salt to clean off any granules which may have stuck on the rim BEFORE adding the lids.  Granules of stray salt can keep lids from adhering.

beans11.jpg11.  Lift hot lids out of the water carefully separating with a fork.  Use a towel or fingers to place the lid on the jar.  Add the band tightly while the lid is still hot.

12.  Note:  At each stage, check for integrity of the glass jars.  Old jars CAN crack.  Do not use a jar with a nick in the rim…the lid will not seal. Even new jars can have a defect.  IF a jar cracks when you put it in the water…ALL the food (beans) HAVE to be cleaned back out of it before you pressure up the canner. Otherwise, a bean could stop up the pressure valve release hole, which is not a good thing.

beans12.jpg13.  Lift the jar of filled beans into the warming water in the canner.  Some canners hold 6 Qt, mine holds 7 Qts. (I sometimes use a towel if the water has gotten quite hot in case the glass breaks when it hits hot water).

beans14.jpg14.  After all jars are in place, place the canning gasket in canner lid if you didn’t before. I often do not get mine positioned in the correct groove the first time, but you can tell by the way the lid fits on mine that something is wrong.  There is usually a very narrower groove for it lower– where I’m pointing in the picture. If it doesn’t seem to be coming up to pressure when the lid is on, take the lid back off, using towels on your hands, and inspect the gasket. It may need to be stretched to fit, or have grease or oil added to it to promote elasticity and swelling.  Stretch it using some muscle, but not overly--you don’t want it too loose to fit.  Stretch and re-retry several times until it seems right.  A tiny bit of excess can be crammer in, but not a draping gasket.  Gaskets are also commonly available in different sizes at stores that carry extensive arrays of canning supplies.  I’ve also borrowed family member’s at times.

beans15.jpg15.  Place the lid on the canner.  Turn it to lock it.  Now, usually, there is a “lock” indicator, sometimes with an arrow telling you which way to twist on the heavy lid.  It is cumbersome.  You will have to use potholders, so try not to have the pan too hot.

You can perhaps see if you look closely in the picture where the lines line up on the canner helping you align the lid.  NOTE:  MY OLDER CANNER LID WILL NOT GO ON THE POT UNLESS THE POT ITSELF IS FACING ME CORRECTLY WITH THE WORDS “OPEN” AND “CLOSE” ON THE  POT SHOWING ME WHERE TO PUT THE LID ON.  Newer canners it likely doesn’t matter.   Put the lid on, twist it clockwise slightly and feel it tighten down.

16.  Check to be sure the steam vent value is on the lid and is unscrewed to OPEN position. I’ve put mine on after it starts steaming if I’ve forgotten it, but you really have to watch carefully for steam burns doing this.  It’s advisable to reduce heat before putting it on if you forget.

17. Once the pressure canner starts to steam, allow it to rise to “FULL STEAM” for 3 minutes. Full steam means that you’ll see steam “shooting” out of the canner straight as opposed to little “puffs”.  You’ll hear it no longer sound like a train, but a solid spray of steam.  Be patient and don’t get scared…it’s okay as long as the pressure guage is still at reasonable levels.  What this is doing is getting excess air out of the canner to create the pressure. 

THEN tighten down the steam valve and watch the canner pressure guage closely until it rises to 10 pounds (assuming your canner’s gauge tested accurately, see notes above).  Then tighten down the air pressure valve by turning it with your finger.  Now, the canner is “pressured up”.

Lower your heat to about 1 or LOW on most oven dials.   WATCH CAREFULLY.  DO NOT LEAVE THE KITCHEN OR BE READING EMAIL OR IT WILL GET AWAY FROM YOU.  You don’t want to potentially blow a hole through the room of your home.  Start timer for 25 minutes. You may have to increase or decrease heat to keep it around 10 poundsBE SURE you have turned the heat down before closing off the pressure valve!

18. After 25 minutes, you can turn off the heat, allowing the canner to cool. (During canning,  I usually try to not have the kids running and jumping in the kitchen, just in case.)   Let the canner cool.  DO NOT FORCE THE LID OPEN BEFORE THE CANNER HAS COOLED. You don’t want it to blow your head off or anything ugly.

You may try to take the lid off after pressure is at 0.  I usually try to leave my jars there if I have time and let them sit a while, even overnight or while I’m out. If you need to take them out hot in order to continue canning more beans, use two towels, one on top of the jar, and one supporting the bottom of the jar as you remove the jar from the canner.  If the jar breaks or has developed a crack during canning, you don’t get splashed as debris hits the hot water.  If a jar breaks, take the other jars out, clean out the canner (after it cools and you can handle it, and continue on.

19.  Sit the jars on dry towels folded in half (NOT cool, damp towels!). Jarsy are hot, this gives them a “cushion” when you sit them down.  BE CAREFUL AND GENTLE, THEY ARE NOT YET ‘SEALED DOWN’ COMPLETELY. You may or may not hear “popping” as the lids seal down.  DO NOT TAKE THE BANDS OFF THE JARS UNTIL THE LIDS NO LONGER “POP UP” WHEN YOU PUSH ON THEM and the jars are cooled. If the lids still do not “stay down” after sitting overnight, the jar did not seal.  Just stick it in the fridge and eat it in a day or two if it did not seal, leaving the band intact.

I canned 21 jars and only one did not seal.

20.  Label the lids with a permanent marker with the year (and type of bean, if you use several varieties). After you sample the seasons produce for sun, cook your oldest canned jars first.  They store a very long time…if they are discolored or have a funky smell, you know it’s time to throw them away.

21.  Wash and store canner and bands.  Again, do not store the gasket outside…it’s more prone to dry out.  I take my bands off my jars; some leave them together.  I don’t own that many.  I just take them off and keep the bands and extra lids in a plastic grocery bag with the canner.  You can use the bands over and over through several cannings if necessary.

I hope this has been helpful to you.  Note that I am not responsible for misinformation or accidents, though I’ve edited this 4-5 times to try to be sure.  Double check with other respectable sites.  I’m happy to try to answer questions you may have.  Simply comment.

ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS PEOPLE HAVE HAD:

I forgot to add the salt, now what? Well, the salt is a biG part of the preservative.  Therefore, you need to set these jars aside on your cabinet and use them first.  They should last a few months, but I wouldn’t store them long term without salt.  Also, bump your seasoning up to compensate as you cook them.  I like to add a tsp of salt, a dash of pepper, and for GREAT beans, a strip of bacon cooked in it, or some left over reserved bacon grease.

I broke a jar, now what? That’s in the article above.  No need to panic.  It happens. Just be careful, and no, you don’t need to eat the beans in the pot, there may be glass in there.  Clean out the canner good before you continue to can with it.  Stray beans can clog the vent hole prematurely.

A jar didn’t seal: Check this article.  Use these beans for supper, or store a few days in the frig.  If there are many, review the process here to make sure you are covering everything.

Why do I hear a funny rattle of jars hitting together inside the canner? Because some jars are narrower than others if you aren’t using standard canning jars.  They will knock against each other until you get the canner up to pressure.  I set the canner to a bit lower heat early on to minimize this and reduce the chances of breaking a jar.

Can I Can Less Than a Full Canner? I usually just fix a big “mess” of beans or share when a neighbor when this happens.  Theoretically, you can as long as the canner is balanced.  Especially if you are only missing the “center” jar, it will probably can fine.  Less than that, and I probably wouldn’t mess with it.

I Can’t Get the Lid ON My Canner! Spin the pot itself toward you and see if your canner requires the pot to face you.  It may have words like “open” and “close” to help you.

All the water drained from my jars! You probably did not screw the bands on tight enough.  Tighten them as tight as you can by hand without over-tightening.  You can still use them, but I’d use them first, as they are prone to drying out faster.

Thanks for stopping by!  Let me know how it works out for you.

Entry filed under: Everyday. Tags: .

Marx at His Height Using WordPress Categories or “Tags” Well

115 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna  |  July 29, 2006 at 6:11 am

    Many years ago I used the waterbath method to can green beans and they turned out better than my friend who used a pressure cooker. Everyone is still alive that ate my green beans but now
    every recipe calls for pressure cooker! I have a water bath canner and want to use it but
    can’t find a recipe to do so for green beans can you help?

  • 2. jen  |  August 1, 2006 at 5:56 pm

    I recently canned about 80 qts. of green beans using the hot bath method. I’ve done this before without any problems but now about a week later my jars that were sealed are coming unsealed. What would cause this to happen?

  • 3. Faye  |  August 21, 2006 at 6:20 pm

    I’m a nervous wreck! I too have been canning my green beans via waterbath. After reading articles here and there I’m afraid to eat mly beans. I pre-cook my beans for 10 minutes in boiling water and then hot pack them and cook in boiling water bath for 45 minutes. I’m I gonna die?!?

  • 4. 5purposedriven  |  August 21, 2006 at 6:52 pm

    Post Author: Sorry guys… I don’t know much about the waterbath method for green beans. My aunt uses waterbath for tomatoes to keep from overcooking them. I’d say to just make sure you cook the beans thoroughly before eating them and not leave them sitting on the shelf for years if they aren’t getting that sterilized “boil”. Check with your local home economist or with a web site like “Ball” and they’ll likely be able to assist you with this method.
    Thanks for visiting!
    ~Maggie

  • 5. emm  |  October 28, 2006 at 9:41 pm

    just curious….how long do you wait after processing to crack open a jar of beans (properly sealed of course)? a week? a month? two months? thanks!

    Maggie: There is no wait time. I usually wait to open them until overnight so I can see how the batch sealed, however.

  • 6. Patty  |  June 8, 2007 at 9:08 am

    Maggie!
    Thank you so much for posting this. I was just talking about canning green beans. I made some fresh green beans the other day and they were soooo yummy and I wanted to can green beans. Now, if this doesn’t work will you come to my house and help me?!! ;o) I’ll have to print this off!

    Have a great weekend!

  • 7. Beth  |  June 28, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    I have a question. I pressure canned green beans and after I was done and pulled the jars out of the pressure canner I noticed that all of the liquid was gone out of the jars. What did I do wrong? I know the lids and rings were tight before I put them in the canner.

    Maggie: My mother suggests that perhaps you did not get them up to full pressure (10 pounds). You may want to have your canner checked for accuracy, or be sure you are getting them up to full steam.

  • 8. Anna Templeton  |  July 5, 2007 at 10:25 am

    I have never REALLY canned before. My Mom is the Master, but she is also a control freak and doesn’t think anyone can do it right except the MASTER. Sooooooo, I need to purchase a pressure canner (scared of those things), so could recommend a very safe one for someone who knows next to nothing about canning?

    Thank you.

  • 9. Joyce Odom  |  July 12, 2007 at 8:55 am

    I have a mirror 7 Quart canner. I got it from a friend. I do not have canning instructions with it. It does not have the number guage on it, it has a 5, 10, and 15 3 hole guage. How do I know how long and whether I use a 5, 10 or 15 pound guage. I am going to can some tomatoes and green beans.

  • 10. Deborah Piquard  |  July 30, 2007 at 10:59 am

    I just canned some green beans in pint jars, they did fine. My question is after they were finished I still had fine tiny bubbles around the top of the jar, what does this mean? When I place them in the cabinet the next day, I still had the bubbles.

    Maggie: It’s probably just from the pressure. They will eventually go down. I’ve seen them before as well.

  • 11. Lori Arnold  |  August 8, 2007 at 6:26 am

    Thank you Maggie! I always loved the name Maggie! i too am a christian and live and love for the Lord. I too, also have a long way to go, but with hope, continue to strive for his grace.
    sincerely.
    Lori

    Maggie replies: It is only a user name for me, based on the blog name “Magnanimity”. However, I am partial to it as well. I’ve gown used to it in cyberspace. Thanks for your precious comment.

  • 12. La Verne Feasel  |  September 1, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    Thank you very much for this process. You are very throughly and very helpful to me. Thank you again for your help. LF

  • 13. Laron  |  May 8, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Good website on canning green beans.

    But I’m wondering about eating them: How much reheating is necessary to be safe before eating? Just reheat, or boil for at least how long?

    Thanks,
    Laron (who has lots of mother’s canned beans to eat)

    Maggie replies:
    It depends on how long she pressured them the first time somewhat, but they need to be cooked until the water cooks down. If they don’t have much water, add until you can see it through the beans in your pan. I usually get mine hot, season as desired (just salt and perhaps a piece of bacon or some bacon grease added for us in the south), then lower heat to between low and medium, but get them off if you start to hear a sizzle…they are scorching. I like the beans to turn a brownish color rather than white and keep adding water until that happens if I have the time. If not, they beans should be tender and not too white. About 15-20 minutes.

  • 14. Marvin Conner  |  May 17, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    About all the water boiled out of the jars. What did I do wrong? They sealed, but are they still good?

    Maggie replies: My mother says it is likely that you either didn’t get them to full pressure, or the lids weren’t tight enough to begin with. They are still good, but I’d use them soon. If ALL the water is out of the jars, they may be dry. You could try sort of shaking them to distribute moisture every so often until you use them.

  • 15. "Maggie"  |  May 17, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Marvin,

    I tried emailing you, but didn’t have a valid email, so I’ll put the response here in hopes you’ll find it.

    I’ve never had that happen. It is possible that the bands were not
    tightened as well as they could have been?

    I would say they would still be fine, but they may dry out unless you keep
    the beans covered now and then.

    Where did you get green beans this time of year to can…or did you can them
    some time ago?

  • 16. Lori Macrander  |  July 6, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    I’m not new at canning, but I am new to my current problem. It looks as though my green beans are going to be ready to pick by the end of this coming week, problem is, we are leaving for vacation on Friday. I figured I could pick them Thursday night or Friday morning. My question is, how long can I keep them refrigerated before I can them? Also, can I freeze them before I can them? Thank you.

    Maggie replies:

    I think the best solution in your case is to have a friend pick and enjoy your first batch, then to plan on canning your second batch. My mother often has this problem, and that is how I benefit from her garden.

    I would personally not want to risk the work of poor beans in a canning. In the fridge overnight or a couple days is no problem, but then they begin to get soft and withery…too much so to break.

    I put mine in plastic store bags, and they do fine for a couple days, but moisture comes out of the beans and into the bags after a while creating soft beans.

    As to freezing…I would not freeze and then thaw for canning. It’s just too much work and too risky when more beans are pretty sure to come.

  • 17. Elsie Ping  |  July 6, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    Thank you so much for the Green Bean canning directions.

    I have a new canner and want to can green beans this year…..

    It has been a long time since I canned. I love your site and I’ll be back soon.
    Thanks and God Bless you and yours, Elsie

  • 18. Debbie Stidham  |  July 10, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    I am so new at this canning and will actually attempt to can my first batch of green beans by the water bath method this weekend. I too have heard all the ‘horror” stories as to why NOT to use this method for beans but I’m doing it anyway! My question is how long do I need to let the beans boil in the jars in the water bath? And should I boil the beans on the stove for a certain amount of time before adding them to the jars first? Told you I was NEW at this!

  • 19. Diane  |  July 14, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    I have canned green beans before, but always broken them in pieces. I would like to can them whole this year. Have you done this before? Would the procedure be any different?

    Maggie replies:
    No, I wouldn’t think so at all, Diane.

  • 20. Laresa Forbes  |  July 20, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    Hi,
    I’ve got green beans comming on, and I’ve lost my recipe from Ball, for the waterbath method of canning. The way my grandmother and mother did their beans, and I did 24 years ago. Do you have a instructions for the waterbath method? No one in our family ever died doing it this way! Thanks. Please email me!

  • 21. Cara  |  July 21, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    My sister and I canned grean beans for the first time yesterday and we are eager to try them out. Do we have to wait any certain amount of time before cracking open one of the jars? I also did some jalapenos and banana peppers and we have to wait like 6-8 weeks for those.

    Thanks

    Maggie replies: Nope, no wait, except I like to wait for them to seal first overnight to see if they all seal or not, and, of course, you don’t want to handle the glass jars hot anyway. You may need to eat the ones that didn’t seal in the next day or two anyway, so wait to see if they seal would be my advice. We don’t want bean overload!

  • 22. Alana  |  July 24, 2008 at 10:17 am

    I have been canning green beans using this method for several years now. I have a new problem though. The beans themselves are turning a pinkish/reddish color after canning. The jars are sealing just fine and the beans taste fine, hold their shape fine, but are complete and total mush. Has anyone else experienced this? Thanks!!

  • 23. becky  |  July 27, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    why do I get so much water in the bottom of my canned veggies after they have been processed?

    Maggie: Moisture is normal…most veggies have a high water content. The pressure and heat cooks it out of them some.

  • 24. nikki  |  July 29, 2008 at 9:41 am

    If anyone pressure cooks there green beans or anything else and only has small pressure cookers, than go to Red Hill General Store and you can find a 41 qt pressure cooker.{it will hold 19 qt jars or 32 pt jars} It has been a big help to me. It is not cheep however, I don’t have a lot of time between batches and it saves on my gas bill, because its less batches that I have to pressure cook. And we all know how high gas is going…

    Maggie replies:
    Thanks, Nikki!

  • 25. Kathy Powell  |  July 29, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Just wanted to let you know I think you made a mistake in your disclaimer. You said that you were responsible for misinformation and accidents. I think you meant to add the word “not”.

    Maggie: I think I got it right at the end, but added the beginning notice and you are right! Thanks so much, friend.

  • 26. Paula  |  July 30, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    I’m pressure canning beans and some of the juice from the jars came out of the beans. The lids sealed correctly however. The water in the canner smelled like green beans. I did 7 quarts and they all turned out like this! I’m wondering if I should unseal the beans, add more water & salt and retry to pressure can them again? I’m thinking this would overcook the beans?
    TIA, Paula

    Maggie:
    Paula, they are probably fine. I would not worry about it as long as they sealed. You may want to have your canner tested and/or be SURE you are getting it up to full pressure. Also, next time, be sure to get the lids sealed tightly enough before putting them in the canner…not overtight, but tight enough where when they heat, they won’t be tempted to loosen.

    I’d put them somewhere to use first if I were worried, but no, I would not repressure. Thanks for your comment!

  • 27. Chris  |  August 16, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Hey maggie,

    Just wondered if you had any problems with your ball jars cracking and breaking during pressure(canner) cooking. I had processed about 15 pints of green beans. Now my cooker holds 7 pint jars. Each round of cooking it seemed like one jar cracked and broke. Not only is this frustrating but I was thinking that these jars are a little old as I received them from my mother and she hasn’t canned in years. My next round of canning would be meat, and I sure don’t want to waste the time or money wasting good meat. Just wondered your wisdom on this.

    Thank You.

    Chris:
    Wow…I haven’t had any problem at all and have heard that the integrity of brand name jars were trustworthy, even old and pretty weathered glass jars. I have heard, however, when in doubt to the age, to make sure a name is evident on the jars…like Ball, or some of the other names.

    Often, a mayonnaise jar will get mixed in, and those are NOT safe for canning and should be discarded.

    Do your jars have any names on them?

    Jars are not really that expensive, and certainly for meat…I would just invest in some new flats, complete with band and lid.

  • 28. Michelle  |  August 18, 2008 at 11:18 am

    I am new to canning this season and wanted to hot water bath the green beans and now I know why its a big No-No… apparently the reason is botulism. The green beans only reach 220 degrees in a hot water bath and because of low acid in the beans they get botulism spores where in a pressure cooker method it reaches 250 degrees which is needed and the spores cant generate. I looked high and low for information on hot water bathing for green beans and this is the reasoning… Ughh!

  • 29. Brenda  |  August 19, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    After canning some green bean this year as I have done every year, we opend a jar the other day and the beans where all shriveled up. This never happened before and wondering if they are safe to eat or what caused this? Thanks

  • 30. Maggie  |  August 19, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Brenda,
    It’s likely the lid was not securely fastened during canning, or they were not pressured high enough to seal. I would not risk eating them personally, especially if there were good jars.

    Maggie

  • 31. Cindy Steckler  |  August 20, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    I canned a batch of Dilly Beans and some of the beans are shrived/wrikled. What causes this?

  • 32. Sheila Jackson  |  August 22, 2008 at 11:56 am

    Salt is not necessary to preserve the beans. They help to preserve food by removing water (osmosis) from the end product–usually meat–which helps prevent growth of bacteria. Also you need to not tighten lids down too securely because air needs to escape during processing to create the vacuum that will hold the seal when done. The vacuum inside the jar when cool should keep the seal tight. Liquid usually comes out of the jar because of a sudden drop of pressure in the canner. You have a very informative site. I enjoyed it. Thanks

  • 33. Sheila Jackson  |  August 22, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    My green bean liquid turned reddish brown also for the first time. Can you tell me what caused it? I read that Alana had the same problem and said her beans tasted fine but were mushy. Mushy texture would be a no-no. Help.

  • 34. Sheila Jackson  |  August 24, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    Found out what happened to the green beans with the red-brown liquid. My husband cures salmon eggs for fishing and had mixed borax powder with the pickling salt w/o relabeling the jar. I called poison control and they said there was no health concern since we only tasted a few. She said to definitely throw out all 36 jars worth of beans. So sad. At least I now know what caused the problem.

  • 35. Donte Burnette  |  August 26, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    My wife and I just canned about 50 jars of beans in the last 2 days with more to come. We used the hot water bath method, which had been used by her father and the beans were always great (the bacon didn’t hurt either when prepared to eat). Anyway, I just check out this website: http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art2816.asp
    and the short answer is hot water bath canning is OK for high acid foods like tomatoes and fruit. Low acid vegetables such as beans are OK when you PICKLE them with vinegar (as are other vegetable). Apparently the pickling helps kill the bacteria that could occur under hot water bath conditions (a low 212 degrees compared to, what, 225?) Anyway, hope this helps. Love your website and thanks for all the energy and effort you’ve contributed to this. You helped us, and, no doubt. hundreds of others, too. Thanks, Maggie. Or whatever your name is!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 934,651 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

